Centre sets up JWG on power in J&K

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 3: The Union Power Ministry has formed a Joint Working Group (JWG) for sanctioning a scheme for 288 towns of Jammu and Kashmir having a population of more than 4000 persons as per 2001 census.
The JWG comprised officers from Power Finance Corporation, New Delhi, Central Electricity Authority (CEA), New Delhi and Jammu and Kashmir Power Development Department.
A decision to this effect was taken in a meeting held at New Delhi and attended among others by Joint Secretary, Ministry of Power, Government of India, Senior Management of CEA and Power Finance Corporation. Sudhanshu Pandey, Principal Secretary PDD and Manzoor Ahmad Salroo, Development Commissioner, Power represented J&K Government in the meeting.
“In order to expedite the scrutiny of the new scheme of 288 towns already submitted to the CEA New Delhi, the meeting decided to form the JWG. The process of scrutiny will be completed by the end of May 2012. The sanctioning of the project for 288 more towns of J&K will result in improvement of power system, quality power supply to consumers and efficient management of power system’’, sources said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here