Casual labourers hold protest, demand regularisation

Casual labourers and daily rated workers staging protest demonstration in Jammu on Saturday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh
Casual labourers and daily rated workers staging protest demonstration in Jammu on Saturday. -Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 25: A large number of casual labours/workers and daily wagers today held strong protest demonstration in support of their demands here today.
The casual workers from various Government departments under the banner of Jammu Kashmir Casual Labours United Front (Jammu province) assembled near the office of Divisional Commissioner Jammu on Railway Road here today and staged strong protest. They were shouting loud slogans in support of their demands. The workers were carrying banners and placards in their hands projecting their burning issues.
Several Trade Union leaders addressed the gathering and criticised the LG’s administration for not taking any initiative to start process of regularization of the casual labours and other daily wagers. They pointed out that there are about 61,000 such daily wagers and many of them are working for the last over 15-20 years in various departments. Majority of them have remained on the fore front during COVID but it is unfortunate that they are struggling for their survival and no benefit was accorded to them.
They pointed out that several workers died during service but their families were not compensated and no benefits were provided to them. There is no social security to these workers.
They demanded regularisation of all the casual labours and daily rated workers, release of their pending wages, social security cover and implementation of Minimum Wages Act.
They pointed out that the workers are struggling since long but neither Governor nor LG’s Administration has provided any relief to them. The BJP leaders of Jammu also befooled them and took to the Governor and then LG but they are feeling cheated even today.
Prominent among those who were leading protest included-Akhil Sharma (President PDD Union), Deepak Gupta ( President PHE ), Satish Sharma ( President. R&B), Rajan Sharma (President Agri), Parshotam Kumar (Estates), Basant Singh, Narinder Kumar, Pardip Singh, Bhanu Partap and Devi Dass.