BJP making RTI Act toothless tiger: Madan Lal

Former MP Madan Lal Sharma and BCC Chowki Chora members during meeting at Akhnoor.
Former MP Madan Lal Sharma and BCC Chowki Chora members during meeting at Akhnoor.

Excelsior Correspondent
AKHNOOR, July 28: Former Member Parliament, Madan Lal Sharma has said that Congress made powerful RTI Act but the BJP has been trying to dilute it.
Addressing public meeting of Block Congress workers of Chowki Chora at Akhnoor today,
Madan Lal said that the Central Government is systematically killing the institutions of India and the amendments in RTI Act is the latest example of it. He said that the UPA Government brought the RTI Act in 2005 and being a Member of Parliament at that time he was one of the members who made this Act and voted for it to become a law. This Act was made by us to empower the citizens of India. But now the Central Government has turned the Information Commissions into a toothless tiger who will be at the mercy of the Central government.
The salary and tenure of the Information Commissioners was fixed in the RTI Act made by Congress Government but now the amendments brought by BJP has given the power to Central Govt to fix the tenure and salary of the Information Commissioners. This will compromise the independence of the Information Commissions. All the RTI activists and social workers are protesting all over the country against these amendments to the Act, he added.
Sharma also said that people of Akhnoor are suffering in this summer due to long power cuts and irregular supply of water. The departments are not paying heed to the problems of the people in absence of an elected representative of the area.
Speaking in the meeting Padam Dev assured that he will work at grass root level to strengthen the Congress party in Chowki Chora Block.
In the meeting youth leader Satish Sharma distributed plant saplings to all the Congress workers who came for the meeting and asked them to spread the message of tree plantation in the Akhnoor area.
During meeting Block Congress Committee of Chowki Chora was also announced. Senior Congress leader Padam Dev was appointed as the president of Block Congress Committee Chowki Chora, Om Prakash & Madan Lal as working presidents, Gyan Singh and Mohan Lal as vice presidents, Major Ram as treasurer, Bodh Raj, Tara Chand, Kuldeep Raj, Suresh Kumar & Mansa Ram as general secretaries of the Block.