Bill seeking constitution of Chandi Mata Shrine Board tabled in Assembly

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Mar 1: Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Mohammad Ramzan today laid on the table of the House a copy of the Bill passed by the Legislative Council on October 10, 2012 for the concurrence of the Legislative Assembly.
The Private Member’s Bill pertains to the constitution of Shri Chandi Mata Machail Dham (Machail Yatra) Shrine Board.
In the statement of objects and reasons, the Legislative Council Member Naresh Kumar Gupta has stated that the purpose of bill is to provide far better management, administration, governance of Chandi Mata Machail Dham (Machail Yatra) and its endowments including land, buildings or appurtenances to the shrine beginning from Bhaderwah town up to Machail Dham and the adjoining hillocks currently under the management of Sarva Shakti Sevak Sanstha Machail Yatra Management.
“The Machail Yatra is the second biggest pilgrimage in the State after Shri Amarnathji Yatra. This year about 1.50 lakh pilgrims visited the Chandi Mata Machail (Chandi Dham) to seek the blessings of the Goddess Chandi”, he said, adding “since the area is hilly the management is not in a position to raise the pilgrimage structure enroute yatra and at Machail Dham”.
The Sarva Shakti Sevak Sanstha Machail Yatra Management has constructed certain structures at various places besides purchasing/managing blankets, utensils, generators etc and have saved the money also collected by way of donations and offerings at Machail Dham, he further said, adding the Sarva Shakti Sevak Sanstha Machail Yatra Management has its blocks/units all over the Jammu province which should be merged with the proposed Shrine Board.
“The 30% of the members of the proposed Shrine Board shall be from Sarva Shakti Sevak Sanstha Machail Yatra Management, which will be nominated by the Founder Patron-in-Chief Thakur Kulbir Singh Jamwal and rest 70% by way of nomination by the Governor/Government”, the Bill said, adding “for efficient discharge of functions the Board may appoint Chief Executive Officer and other officers with preference to the local educated skilled and un-skilled youth of Padder tehsil on priority and thereafter to Bhaderwah, Thathri and Kishtwar tehsils”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here