Assembly Panel recommends framing of demarcation policy for wet, rakh lands

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 16: The House Committee of Legislative Assembly constituted to ascertain the factual position regarding the illegal encroachment of wet lands and conversion for residential purposes in Srinagar, Baramulla and Bandipora today recommended the Government  to frame a demarcation policy for  wetlands and rakh lands of the Valley to protect these against encroachment.
The House Committee, which met under the chairmanship of MLA Hakeem Mohammad Yasin here today, discussed and reviewed the status of illegal encroachments of wet lands.
The Committee members Sajjad Ahmed Kitchloo and Ashok Kumar also gave their valuable suggestions for preservation and conservation of water bodies of the Valley.
The panel sought detailed status about the illegal encroachments by name, residence, purpose for which illegal land is used along with time period, from revenue, wildlife warden, rakh farms and forest departments within one month for the scrutiny of the Committee members. It also sought the detailed report about the measures taken by the different departments for preventing     encroachments of wet lands.
Detailed discussion was also held on encroachment of Narkra land in Budgam. The panel stressed for its protection and suggested for framing housing policy in this regard.
The Committee directed the Deputy Commissioner Budgam Khursheed Ahmad and Director Rakh Farms, Altaf Andrabi to constitute a joint committee for reconciliation of the land holdings of the Kamas at Narkra Budgam falling under the jurisdiction of Agriculture Department.
About  Dal and Nageen, the Vice Chairman, LAWDA, Irfan Yasin informed the Committee about the measures taken by the authority for rehabilitation of Dal Dwellers and demarcation of Dal Lake. He also informed that 8 colonies including Panchkarwari have already been established for the purpose.
Among others, Principal Chief Conservator of Forest Wildlife, A. K. Singh, Secretary Forest Mohammad Afzal, Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forest and Director Remote Sensing and Environment Suresh Chaug, Deputy Commissioner Baramulla G. A. Khawaja, Special Secretary Forest T. Ravi Kumar, Vice Chairman Srinagar Development Authority S. N. Barlan and other senior officers of Assembly Secretariat attended the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here