AAP holds protest for restoration of statehood to J&K

AAP leaders during a protest in Jammu on Thursday.
AAP leaders during a protest in Jammu on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Feb 2: Demanding restoration of statehood to Jammu and Kashmir which is being delayed by Government of India to further push the region in era of uncertainty, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today held a massive protest demonstration in Jammu.
A large number of party leaders joined this protest during which a protest rally was also taken out to expose the anti people policies of Bharatiya Janata Party in J&K. Many party leaders were also detained by police during this protest and were not allowed to march further.
In its press statement, AAP said that restoration of statehood is demand of every single citizen of J&K but BJP Government is ignoring this demand thereby hurting the aspirations of people.
AAP leaders who were part of the protest said that Government promised people of J&K even from the floor of parliament that statehood will be restored at the earliest and appropriate time but this promise is several years old now and people of J&K are still waiting.
The protesting AAP leaders also highlighted the prolong delay in restoration of democratic rights of people of J&K and said that BJP has minimized democracy and local bodies are being considered as Government of people but this holds no basis as a public elected democratic form of State Government can never be replaced by any other mean.
AAP leaders further discussed about the plight of people in J&K due to high-headed approach of bureaucratic setup of LG administration. “The most specific failure of bureaucratic setup of LG administration is that employees from different Government departments are on dharna since long,” they said, adding, silence of Government and no concern towards these protests is more grave aspect.
Mehraj Malik, SS Shangari, Ravi Shastri, Amit Kapoor, Rajesh Padgotra, Gurmeet Singh, Amrik Singh, Jayesh Gupta, Mohd Salaria, Dixit Gupta, Prithpal Singh, Dr Raj Kumar, Mohammad Salaria and other party leaders addressed the protest gathering.