9 Directors of CCBL elected

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 18: A nine- member Board of Directors of  Citizens’ Cooperative Bank Limited (CCBL) was declared elected after the results were announced by the returning officer here this afternoon.
The elections for Board of Directors (BoDs) of the CCBL were held on Monday in which 22 candidates, including four independents, were in the fray. The counting started in the morning at 9 am at  Yatri Bhwan, Bhagwati Nagar and the results were declared by Addl DC Jammu (RO) at around 2.30 pm.
The candidates declared winners included former CCBL chairman Dinesh Gupta with 2,712 votes, Deepak Gupta with 2,406 votes, Koushal Kumar Gupta with 2,323 votes, Praveen Kumar Sharma with 2,174 votes, Kailash Langar with 2,041 votes, Purshotam Singh 1,970 votes, Charanjit Singh Raina with 1,926 votes, Virender Singh with 1,717 votes and Karunesh Gupta with 1,674 votes.
A former CCBL chairman Onkar Seth, independent candidates Balbir Singh Manhas, Rakesh Sharma, Ramakant Khajuria and former JMC Mayor Narinder Singh lost the battle. The elected members will nominate the Chairman of  the Bank.
Immediately after the results were declared, the winners were garlanded profusely by their supporters.  Then a victory march was taken out up to Jewel Chowk. Drum beaters were leading the marchers  and the winners were mounted on an open Tata Mobile vehicle. Their supporters were  following them raising slogans.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here