5 IAS officers of erstwhile J&K cadre figure in top 10 of AGMUT

Two of them on Central deputation, one in Ladakh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, May 26: Five senior Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officers from erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre figured in top 10 in Draft Civil List of 407 joint AGMUT cadre IAS officers though two of them are on Central deputation and another is posted in the Union Territory of Ladakh.
Jammu and Kashmir cadre was merged into Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre after erstwhile State of J&K was divested of special status in the form of Article 370 of the Constitution of India and divided into two Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh on August 5, 2019.
Significantly, Pradip Kumar Tripathi, a senior IAS officer of erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre, topped the list of AGMUT cadre IAS officers.
Tripathi, who has held some important posts in Jammu and Kashmir before proceeding on Central deputation, is now presently posted as Secretary (Coordination), Cabinet Secretariat, Government of India. He is 1987 batch officer.
Another erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre officer Sundeep Kumar Nayak is at third place but he too is on Central deputation. He is presently posted as Director General, National Productivity D/o Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India.
A 1988 batch IAS officer, Nayak, however, is due to retire from services in July this year.
Incumbent Chief Secretary of Jammu and Kashmir Dr Arun Kumar Mehta is at fourth place in joint Draft Civil List of IAS officers of AGMUT cadre. He too is 1988 batch IAS officer.
Atal Dulloo, Financial Commissioner (Additional Chief Secretary) Agriculture Production Department figured at No. 9 in the AGMUT cadre list. He is 1989 batch officer of erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre.
At 10th place is Umang Narula, presently Advisor to the Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh. Narula is 1989 batch officer of previously Jammu and Kashmir cadre and has held important posts in J&K and New Delhi. He was posted as Advisor to Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh after division of J&K into two Union Territories in 2019 and is since posted there.
Officers of other States/UT who figured among top 10 in AGMUT cadre include Naresh Kumar, Chief Secretary of Delhi at No. 2, Chetan Bhushan, Financial Commissioner, Delhi Finance Commission at No. 5, Dharam Pal, Advisor to Administrator, UT of Chandigarh at No. 6, Dharmendra Sharma, Director General, Election Commission of India, Delhi at No. 7 and Dr Renu Sharma, Chief Secretary, Mizoram, who is placed at No. 9.
It may be mentioned here that a number of IAS officers of erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir cadre are on Central deputation while many others have been posted in the Union Territory of Ladakh.
In turn, the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has posted many officers of All India Services to the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh on deputation for different period of time. Some of them have returned after completion of their deputation period.