5 BJP candidates win uncontested in Valley

Husband, wife emerge victorious from Kulgam 

Avtar Bhat
JAMMU, Sept 27: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the first time in election history of Kashmir since 1951, tasted success when its five candidates were elected uncontested from three Municipal Committees in South Kashmir districts of Kulgam and Anantnag respectively, the last date for withdrawal of the nomination papers for which was September 25.
According to sources, this was for the first time in the history of Kashmir when BJP has won any election uncontested in Kashmir valley since the first election to constituent Assembly of J&K was held in 1951.
Taking full advantage of poll boycott call of separatists and mainstream political parties including National Conference (NC) and People’s Democratic Party (PDP), BJP has entered into the election fray in Kashmir with full vigor and enthusiasm to strengthen the nationalist forces in the State.
In the first phase of elections to the Municipal Committees of Achabal, in Anantnag district of South Kashmir which has eight seats, Kulgam and Devsar Municipal Committees which have 13 and eight seats respectively, also in South Kashmir BJP candidates emerged victorious uncontested for two seats of Achabal and two seats of Kulgam and one seat of Devsar Municipal Committees respectively as no party or Independent candidate filed nomination papers against them in these Wards.
Interestingly from Kulgam Municipal Committee, husband and wife duo emerged victorious on BJP ticket from two wards. Babloo Gosani and his wife, Jyoti Gosani won uncontested from Ward No 13 and Ward No 7 respectively as no other candidate has filed nomination for these two wards. Similarly nephew and aunt emerged victorious from two Municipal Committee seats of Achabal on BJP ticket. Party’s Urmila Bali and her nephew, Rishap Bali won uncontested from Ward No 1 and Ward No 2 of Achabal Municipal Committee respectively.
Lone BJP candidate Satish Zutshi was elected uncontested from eight member Municipal Committee of Devsar in Kulgam district also. The party has fielded eight candidates for all eight wards of the Municipal Committee, Devsar. However, other seven candidates are facing a challenge from Congress and Independents.
Though NC and PDP have boycotted the Municipal and Panchayat elections in the State seeking a guarantee from the Centre that Article 35 A will not be abrogated from Constitution of India, the Congress, CPM and other smaller parties also did not field candidates in these five Municipal wards making it a cakewalk for BJP candidates.
Exuding confidence that BJP will emerge victorious in more Municipal Councils and Committees in South Kashmir, Vir Saraf, Prabhari BJP for South Kashmir said that his party is contesting for all 25 seats of Municipal Council of Anantnag.
He said the party has fielded three candidates for Municipal Committee of Bijbehara which has 17 seats. The party, however, did not field any candidate for the Municipal Committee of Kokernag, he added.
He said the BJP has filed nomination papers for all the seven seats of Municipal Committee of Qazigund and for all eight seats for the Municipal Committee of Devsar.
The party has also fielded two candidates for the 13 member Kulgam Municipal Committee who emerged victorious uncontested, he added.
Saraf said party is getting encouraging results and “we are hopeful of better performance in other Municipal Committees and Corporations not only in South Kashmir but other parts of Kashmir valley also’’.
Justifying the decision of Government to hold Municipal and Panchayat elections in the State, he said this is the only way to strengthen the democratic institutions at grass root level and bring the misguided youth into the national mainstream. Besides, the State will also get the additional Rs 1000 crore for development after holding ULB polls.
This will ensure the development of the State, he added.