49% turnout recorded in 4th phase of Assembly Elections

Excelsior Correspondent

SRINAGAR : About 49% voters exercised their right to franchise in the 4thphase of Assembly Elections-2014 across 18 Assembly constituencies of four districts in the state including Srinagar, Anantnag, Shopian and Samba.

Giving details at a press conference, at Banquet Hall Srinagar here today, the Chief Electoral Officer, Mr. Umang Narula said the highest turnout was recorded in Vijaypur Assembly constituency of district Samba while the lowest was recorded in Habba Kadal Assembly constituency of Srinagar district. He also added that in district Srinagar 28% polling was recorded while in district Anantnag 61% polling, in district Shopian, 50% polling while in Samba district 81% polling was recorded.

The CEO informed that in 8 Assembly Constituencies of Srinagar district,  Hazratbal Assembly constituency recorded 29.36%, Zadibal Assembly constituency 23.64%, Eidgah Assembly constituency 27.79%, Khanyar Assembly constituency 26.12%, Habba Kadal Assembly constituency 21.01%, Amira Kadal assembly constituency 24.81%, Sonwar Assembly constituency 44.17% and Batamaloo Assembly constituency recorded 24.34% voter turnout.

In 6 Assembly Constituencies of Anantnag district,  Anantnag Assembly constituency recorded 38.67%, Dooru Assembly constituency 63.94%, Kokernag Assembly constituency 64.90%, Shangus Assembly constituency 67.27%, Bijbehara Assembly constituency 53.87% and Pahalgam Assembly constituency recorded 68.53% voter turnout.

While in two Assembly Constituencies of Shopian district, Wachi Assembly constituency recorded 42.66% and Shopian Assembly constituency recorded 52.06% voter turnout.

Besides, in two Assembly constituencies of Samba district, Samba (SC) recorded 77% and Vijaypur recorded 81.31% voter turnout.

The Chief Electoral Officer said 18 Assembly constituencies of the state that went to polls today were spread over four districts for which as many as 1890 polling stations were set up.

The CEO also gave out that 182 candidates were in the fray for these 18 Assembly constituencies which comprised 14,73,050 electors including 767471 male and 705559 female voters besides 20 third gender voters

Mr. Narula added that web casting was done in 155 Polling Stations while as at 48 polling stations digital and at 82 polling stations video cameras were installed to ensure free, fair and smooth conduct of polls.

Mr. Narula said that 18 General Observers, 06 Expenditure Observers, 03 Police Observers, 02 Awareness Observer besides 384 micro observers and about 8000 poll officials were deployed for the smooth conduct of polls.

He said elaborate arrangements were made to facilitate voters to exercise their right to franchise in a free and fair atmosphere adding that the polling percentage may increase after consolidation of figures.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here