3 power projects defunct: Minister

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 5:  Minister of State for Power Asiea Naqash informed the House that Jammu and Kashmir State Power Development Corporation (JKSPDC) owns, operates and maintains 23 hydro power projects varying from micro to major in capacity.
Replying to a question of Ghulam Nabi Monga, the Minister gave   detailed status of operational and non operational hydro power projects. She informed that three power projects Sewa-III, Satakna and Mohra are non-operational as these require renovation, up-gradation and modernization.
She further informed that in addition to these, survey, investigation DPRs for nine of 13 Small Hydro Projects(SHP) taken up under Prime Minister’s Development Package by JAKEDA  have been prepared and finalized.
She said finalization of DPRs for the remaining four is under progress adding that the JAKEDA has also awarded 35 mini hydel project sites to IPPs, having a cumulative capacity of 57.55 MWs.
She also gave details about the  status of works taken up under     Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY) scheme for completion of targets laid down under RGGVY for 12th  and 13th  Plans.
She said under the DDUGJY an amount of Rs 616.59 crore has been approved for 10 districts of Jammu province, nine districts of Kashmir province and two districts of Ladakh region.
The Minister said among 21 districts sanctioned under DDUGJY , eight districts of Kulgam , Shopian, Pulwama, Leh, Kargil, Udhampur, Ramban and Reasi have been entrusted  to Power Grid Corporation of India (PGCIL) for execution and e-NIT has been floated. Works of these eight districts will be allotted once agreement is signed between PGCIL and JKPDD.