SaMaPa Awards announced

Nominees of SaMaPa Awards 2017.
Nominees of SaMaPa Awards 2017.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 20: SaMaPa (Sopori Academy of Music And Performing Arts), the well known music academy and music organization of India by music legend Pandit Bhajan Sopori and music maestro Abhay Rustum Sopori, today announced the names of the recipients of this year’s prestigious SaMaPa awards, the exclusive national level honours pertaining to Jammu & Kashmir.
The awards will be given on November 26, 2017 during the 13th edition of SaMaPa Sangeet Sammelan, the classical music festivals of Delhi, being presented in collaboration with Incredible India, Ministry of Tourism, Govt. of India and IFFCO. The announcement was made by the General Secretary of SaMaPa, music maestro Abhay Rustum Sopori in New Delhi.
SaMaPa is a cultural movement translating from a deep-rooted vision of the great music legend Pandit Bhajan Sopori in creating a unique, unbiased and empowering national level platform for presentation, propagation, and teaching of traditional music and performing arts.
‘SaMaPa Vitasta Award’ is being conferred upon the veteran Tabla maestro Pt. Anindo Chatterjee (Kolkata) and vocalist Pt. Vinayak Torvi (Bengaluru) for their lifetime contribution to Hindustani classical music. The Award carries cash honour of Rs. 50,000 and is given to prominent personalities who have been an asset to our country in the field of art and culture for their unparalleled contribution to Indian art and heritage. The award has been named after the historical river Vitasta of Kashmir also known as Jehlum.
‘SaMaPa Kala Vardhan Samman’ is being conferred upon Saptak, the cultural organization from Ahmedabad. The Award will be presented to Vidushi Manju Mehta, the eminent Sitar Maestro and founder member of Saptak, who will be felicitated for her lifetime contribution to Indian music.
‘SaMaPa Nund Rishi Samman’ is being conferred upon one of the greatest living anthropologist of the world Dr. T N Madan for his contribution to socio-cultural history of Kashmir. Dr. Rafeeq Masoodi will be awarded for his enormous contribution to Kashmiri Art, Culture & Language, and Waheed Jeelani, the renowned singer from Jammu & Kashmir, will be awarded for his immense contribution to Kashmiri music.
‘SaMaPa Acharya Abhinavgupt Samman’ is being conferred upon Dr. Deo Datt Sharma (Jaipur) for his lifetime contribution to the field of art and culture as a music critic & writer.
‘SaMaPa Sangeet Tejasvi Samman’ is a new award instituted by SaMaPa this year to be given to those individuals who have contributed significantly at national and international level and are promising legends in making of Indian music.
‘SaMaPa Yuva Ratan Samman’ is conferred upon Rishi Shankar Upadhyay (Delhi) in recognition of his conspicuous talent and achievements in the field of Hindustani classical music (Pakhawaj).
The awards will be presented during SaMaPa Sangeet Sammelan 2017 which is featuring some of the eminent musicians of Indian classical music including music legend Pandit Bhajan Sopori & maestro Abhay Rustum Sopori (Santoor), Pandit Vinayak Torvi, Pandit Vidyadhar Vyas, Kalapini Komkali (Vocal), Ustad Mohi Bahauddin Dagar (Rudra Veena), Vidushi Manju Mehta (Sitar) Chetan Joshi (Flute) and many others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here