‘Gulab Gatha’ showcased on Maharaja Gulab Singh’s birth anniversary

A still from Hindi film 'Gulab Gatha' showcased at Jammu on Friday.
A still from Hindi film 'Gulab Gatha' showcased at Jammu on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 21: To mark 230th birth anniversary of Maharaja Gulab Singh, Natrang screened the highly acclaimed Hindi film ‘Gulab Gatha’ twice at Natrang Studio Theatre for the invited audiences. Conceptualized, written and directed by Padamshree Balwant Thakur, the making and showcasing of this magnificent film was supported by Maharaja Gulab Singh Memorial Trust (MGSMT).
Dr. Karan Singh, Chairman MGSMT inspired Balwant Thakur to write, produce and direct this first ever film on the history of Great Dogra ruler who created the larger princely state of India.
In virtual address from Mauritius, Balwant Thakur said to make younger generations aware of their rich past and to sensitize them about the making of this State, Natrang with the help of MGSMT took the initiative to produce a film which is now being taken to every nook and corner with the motive to aware everyone about the actual history.
The film ‘Gulab Gatha’ is about the journey of a soldier who achieves great success at everything he initiated. His unquestionable obligatory obedience towards Lahore Durbar, his unconditional sacrifice and his conception of a kingdom has been regarded and given value in this.
Gulab Singh was a normal person with no lineage of royalty but he established himself as a King with the help of his bravery.
The role of Maharaja Gulab Singh is played by Sunil Kumar Palwal. He is supported by Arvind Anand, Madan Rangeela, Janak Khajuria, Anil Tickoo, Neeraj Kant, Vijay Bhat, Pankaj Sharma, Sudhir Jamwal, Sanjeev Gupta, Suresh Kumar, Subash Jamwal, Sumeet Sharma, Gaurav Jamwal, Rahul Sharma, Aftab Singh Chauhan, Meera Tapasvi, Aarushi Thakur Rana, Gauri Thakur, Mohd. Yaseen, Rahul Singh, Goutam Sharma, Ashish Parihar, Brijesh Avtar Sharma, Sanket Bhagat, Sushant Singh Charak, Aviral Kapoor, Shivam Singh, Kuldeep Angral, Chirag Anand, Shivam Sharma and Mohsin Malik.