GM Vaibhav, IM Stany leading jointly at 8 points each after end of 10 rounds

Chess players busy in their matches during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Saturday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
Chess players busy in their matches during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Saturday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Senior National Open Chess Championship

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 16: Grand Master (GM) Vaibhav Suri and International Master (IM) Stany lead jointly with 8 points each after the end of round 10 during the ongoing Senior National Open Chess Championship, being played by Gurjar Desh Charitable Trust, here today.
On the third spot, four players GM Aravindh Chithambaram, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy, GM Bakre Tejas and IM C R G Krishna are with 7.5 points each.
GM Vaibhav Suri of PSPB beat GM Anurag Mhamal of Goa, GM Bakre Tejas of Air India drew with GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr of Tamil Nadu, IM Stany G A of AAI beat GM Sengupta Deep of PSPB, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J of RSPB beat Harshavardhan G B of Tamil Nadu, IM Nitin of RSPB drew with GM Swapnil S Dhopade of RSPB, GM Thipsay Praveen of Maharashtra lost to IM Krishna C R G of RSPB, GM Neelotpal Das of PSPB lost to GM Karthikeyan Murali of PSPB, GM Gupta Abhijeet of PSPB lost to IM Akash of Tamil Nadu, GM Laxman of RSPB lost to GM Chanda Sandipan of West Bengal, IM Rajesh of Tamil Nadu drew with GM Karthik Venkataraman of Andhra Pradesh, GM Vishnu Prasanna of Tamil Nadu beat Sammed Jayakumar Shete of Maharashtra, GM Sundararajan Kidambi lost to Srijit Paul of West Bengal, IM Rahul Srivathshav of Telangana lost to IM Vignesh of Tamil Nadu, IM Shyaam Nikhil of RSPB beat FM Navalgund Niranjan of Karnataka, GM Venkatesh of PSPB beat Surendran of Tamil Nadu, IM Karthikeyan of RSPB lost to IM Girinath of RSPB, IM Viani Antonio Dcunha of Karnataka beat Debarshi Mukherjee of West Bengal, Raahul of Tamil Nadu beat GM Dushyant Sharma of Punjab, Sankalp Gupta of Maharashtra beat Mahindrakar Indrajeet of Maharashtra and IM Mohota Nisha of PSPB lost to IM Rathnakaran of RSPB.
Still 3 more rounds are to be played in this event.
Around 160 players including 19 Grand Masters and 20 International Masters and some Arjuna Awardee players from 27 States and 8 special units–Air India, Railways, Defence, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, LIC, etc. are participating in this event. Total 50 titled players are also playing in this historical and strongest ever national of India till date.
All J&K Chess Association under the aegis of All India Chess Federation is organizing this event. This is also a Asian Zonal 3.7 event as India is a separate zone in Asia. Top 10 board games were shown live on internet by expert Ganesh Babu of Tamil Nadu.
Total prizes of Rs 20 lakhs will be distributed among top 10 players and first prize being Rs 5 lakh. Total 13 rounds will be played. Selected players will lead the Asian Zone 3.7 in world events. All States have been allowed to field 4 entries while being host, J&K has been allowed to field 8 players.
Other participants from J&K are Soham Kamotra, Ajit Singh, Khalid Amin, SP Sharma, Ashutosh Jamwal, Surinder and Ankush Bhardwaj.
The event is played under Fide laws of chess under Swiss System. International Arbiter Dharmendra Kumar is the Chief Arbiter of this event who is supported by seven Deputy Arbiters.
Dr Daud Iqbal Baba, Director, Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, Jammu University inaugurated the round 8 and wished good luck to the players.
The matches are conducted under the overall supervision of AJKCA President Atul Kumar Gupta. All J&K Chess Association members present in today matches include AR Wani, Ashiq Ahmad Kolu, Baldev Raj, Taranvir Singh, Kuljeet Jamwal, Farooq Ahmad, Mohammad Shafi, Khalid Amin, Raj Kumar, Vikas Nanda, Rakesh Gupta and Mohit Bharti.