Dogri Cultural Club of MIET inaugurated

MIET students posing with faculty and guests during inaugural function of their Dogri Cultural Club.
MIET students posing with faculty and guests during inaugural function of their Dogri Cultural Club.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 29: To promote and celebrate the rich heritage of the Dogri language and culture, students at Model Institute of Engineering and Technology (MIET) formed and inaugurated Dogri Cultural Club within its premises.
The inaugural function showcased the rich Dogri cultural heritage by traditional performances, mesmerizing dances, melodious songs, Dogri poetry and miscellaneous activities, all by the students of 2nd semester of the college.
Prof Ankur Gupta (Director MIET) while speaking on the occasion said that the Club will help the students showcase their cultural heritage and celebrate the events periodically. Prof Sahil Sawhney (Senior General Manager) provided digital support in the formation of the Club and bringing the students together.
Janvi Sharma, student of 2nd semester and head of the Club, coordinated all the activities. Dance performance on the song ‘Jagrana’ was mesmerizing and kept the audience spell bound.
History of Dogras was given by Pallavi, Mithali sang a very melodious Dogri song ‘Nai kar moiye maili akhiyan, kal pardesiyen aayee pujna’. Kartik and Kavisha did the befitting and flawless compeering.
Prof SK Sharma (Advisor to Chairman MIER) was the chief guest for the function. In her address, he desired that all the colleges in Jammu province would take a cue from MIET and form such type of clubs in their own colleges where they can enjoy their cultural heritage.
Arushi Sharma (faculty In-charge) guided the students at each step whereas Rohin Sawhney and Pummy Sharma associated themselves from the very beginning and arranged all the help from the college side.
Senior faculty members were present during the function including Prof Dev Anand, Ashwani Padha, Controller of Examinations, Dr Parul Sharma, Dr Komila Aggarwal, Bhanu Pratap Singh Samyal, Abhijit Singh and Bhanu Pratap Singh Jamwal.