DIG, 3 SSPs promoted

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 26: The Departmental Promotion Committee (DPC) today cleared promotion of four IPS officers including one of them as IGP and three as DIGs.
The DPC comprising Chief Secretary Mohammad Iqbal Khandey, Home Secretary Suresh Kumar and Director General of Police (DGP) Ashok Prasad met at the Civil Secretariat in Srinagar this afternoon for about an hour.
Official sources said the DPC has cleared T Punchok, the only remaining IPS officer of 1995 batch who was still serving as DIG, for the post of IGP. Four other IPS officers of 1995 batch had already been promoted as IGP. They included SD Singh, SS Khandare, Rajesh Kumar and T Namgayal. SD Singh and Mr Namgayal were on Central deputation while Mr Rajesh Kumar is presently posted as IGP Jammu and Mr Khandare as IGP Technical Services and CIV.
The DPC also cleared three IPS officers of 1999 batch, presently posted as SSPs, for promotion as DIGs. They are Vijay Singh Samyal, CO IR 10th battalion, J L Sharma, SSP CID (Special Branch) Jammu and Bashir Ahmed Itoo, SSP Railways Kashmir.
With this, only two officers of 1999 batch have now been left as SSPs. They included Israr Ahmad Khan, SSP Samba and Nissar Ahmed, SSP Crime Branch, Jammu.
SSP Traffic Jammu Manmohan Singh, who is also an IPS officer of 1999 batch, hasn’t been promoted in view of an inquiry pending against him.
Other IPS officers of 1999 batch, who have already been promoted as DIGs are Anand Jain and Nitish Kumar, both on deputation to Centre, Ashkoor Wani, DIG Doda-Ramban range, Ali Mohammad, DIG Vigilance and SR Samuel, also on Central deputation.
Another IPS officer of 1995 batch Saji Mohan is in jail for his involvement in narcotics smuggling.
Sources said the DPC approved promotions based on clear vacancies identified by the Police Headquarters.
The State Cabinet would formally approve the promotions and give posting to the newly promoted officers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here