Cong not opposed to rotation of reserved constituencies: Mir

PCC discusses strategy for Assembly elections

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 14: Senior leaders of the Pradesh Congress Committee led by party president, G A Mir discussed the recent political developments and strategy for the coming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in the State.
A meeting of senior leaders of PCC was held under the chairmanship of its president, GA Mir at party office to take stock of the current issues and the latest political development in the country and the State.
The members discussed the current issues and political developments besides discussing the strategy to gear up for the coming elections. The meeting decided to hold series of programmes and conventions in different parts to activate the cadre and expose misdeeds of BJP led Government at the Centre and its utter failure in the State. The meeting also discussed the current issues in the media regarding the move of rotation of constituencies and the pending issue of Resettlement Act.
The party felt that the BJP utterly failed to fulfill its much talked about commitment of delimitation and now trying to target the opposition strong holds through half-baked move of rotation for fear of losing seats, through the institution of Governor. However the party is not opposed to any such process of rotation which is overdue, if it is carried out in accordance with constitution and the law as well as norms for the same without any political bias and favoritism.
The institution of Governor should take on board the all stake holders especially the main stream parties on all major policy decisions, the party reiterated. As far as the issue of Resettlement is concerned the meeting viewed that the party stand is already known from the day of introduction of this legislation, since the matter is sub-judicious in the Supreme Court.
The meeting also congratulated Congress president Rahul Gandhi for the victory in three states which went to poll recently.
The meeting was also attended by Tara Chand, Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, Jughal Kishore Sharma, RS Chib, Ravinder Sharma, Suman Bhagat, Rajneesh Sharma, Balwan Singh, Dr Manohar Lal Sharma, S Manjeet Singh, Vikram Malhotra, GL Chalotra, Shiv Dev Singh, Ashok Sharma, Subash Bhagat and SS Shingari.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here