6 districts to be brought under RAY: Dy CM

Excelsior Correspondent
SRINAGAR, May 25: Six districts of the State, three each in Kashmir and Jammu provinces would be brought under the ambit of Rajiv Awas Yojna (RAY), a centrally sponsored scheme, aimed to make these cities slum-free.
Under the schemes, the districts identified are Jammu, Kathua, Udhampur, Srinagar, Baramulla and Anantnag, which will be covered in first phase.
This was stated by the Deputy Chief Minister, Tara Chand in a meeting of J&K Housing Board officers.
Among others, Principal Secretary, Housing and Urban Development, Suresh Kumar, Managing Director, J&K Housing Board, Tehsin Mustafa and Secretary of the Board, Ram Paul Sharma were present on the occasion.
Deputy Chief Minister asked the officers of the Board to avail the services of available manpower and ensure early completion of the survey of the identified districts so that a detailed project is forwarded to the Centre for allocation of funds.
Deputy Chief Minister said that the scope of RAY envisages integrated development of all existing slums, notified or non-notified, development of infrastructure and housing in the slum rehabilitation colonies for the slum dwellers, urban poor. He said development, maintenance of basic services to the urban poor, including water supply, sewerage, drainage, solid waste management, road, street lighting, community facilities, markets, livelihoods centers, child care centers, schools and health centers would be a part of the Yojna.
It was told that J&K Housing Board has been nominated as Nodal Agency for implementation of the scheme in J&K.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here