Breaking News:

Star-studded Parade Sports Association XI storms into finals

3rd New Year Masters T20 Cup

Star-studded Parade Sports Association XI storms into finals

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 13: Drubbing Cantt Cricket XI in a close contest by a narrow margin of 11 runs today, the star-studded Parade Sports Association XI topped the pool and sealed berth in the finals of the 3rd New Year Masters T20 Cricket Cup, being played at Parade Ground, here.
The tournament in which 6 teams are participating is being organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Transport Department, under the supervision of Sunil Kumar Sharma, Minister of State for Transport and Sports.
The participating teams include Media XI, Sr. Police XI, Doordarshan XI, Parade Sports Association XI, Cantt Cricket XI and Singh Akhnoor XI.
Earlier, batting first, Parade Sports Association XI scored a fighting total of 131 runs in the stipulated 18 overs, losing 6 wickets in the process.
Anshuman Sharma top scored with 33 runs, while Ranjit Bali and Sanjay Sharma contributed valuable 32 and 27 runs to the total respectively. For Cantt Cricket XI, Madan and Rajkumar Bakshi took 2 wickets each, while Narinder claimed 1 wicket.
Cantt Cricket XI, in reply, managed to score 120 runs in 18 overs by losing 9 wickets, thus lost the match by a narrow margin of 11 runs. Vinay top scored with 43 runs, while Narinder was the only other batsman to cross double figure mark, chipping in with 11 runs.
For Parade Sports Association XI, Vicky took 3 wickets, while Pardeep Bali and Sanjay Sharma scalped 2 wickets each. Anshuman was adjudged as man of the match.
Meanwhile, in another match played today, Doordarshan Cricket XI got better of Media Cricket XI by 33 runs.
Batting first, Doordarshan Cricket XI scored 162  runs in the stipulated 20 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. Vikas Raina (Vicky) scored brilliant 94 runs, while Rajesh contributed 19 runs to the total. For Media XI, Sachin was the pick of the bowlers, who took 4 important wickets, while Rahul claimed 1wicket.
In reply, Media Cricket XI could not achieve the target and made 129 runs in 20 overs by losing 7 wickets to lose the match by 33 runs. Vivek Suri was the top scorer with 40 runs, while Pardeep Singh Bali and Sunil Bali contributed 31 and 29 runs respectively. For Doordarshan XI, Suresh took 2 wickets, while Shekhar, Vicky and Rajesh claimed   1 wicket each. Vicky was adjudged as man of the match.
The match was officiated by Sanjay, Sandeep Manchanda and Vinod Kandyara.
In tomorrow’s fixture, Senior Police XI will take on Doordarshan Cricket XI at 1pm.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.