Breaking News:

Jammu Rising Stars wins 7-Match New Year Cricket Series

Praful bags man of series award; Sachin best batsman, Abhay bowler

Jammu Rising Stars wins  7-Match New Year Cricket Series

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 12 : Scripting a convincing 30 runs win over Vishal Tigers XI, Jammu Rising Stars lifted the title trophy of the 7-Match New Year T20 Cricekt Series at Parade Ground, here today.
The 7-matches series for Junior Cricketers was organized by Vishal Cricket Club Jammu under the supervision of Rajesh Gill, former Ranji Trophy Player and Chief Prosecuting Officer. The main objective of the series was to provide maximum matches to the budding and Junior cricketers so that they get chances to showcase their skills.
Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Jammu Rising Stars managed to score a good total of 128 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. Abhay Tandon with 34, Danish with 25 and Shehzad with 21 runs were the main contributors. For Vishal Tigers XI,  Adhishwer and Praful Dhar took 2 wickets each.
In reply, Vishal Tigers could not  chase the target in the stipulated 20 overs and managed to score 98 runs, losing 8 wickets in the process, thus lost the match by 30 runs. Akshit was the top scorer with 20 runs, while Praful Dhar contributed unbeaten 16 runs to the total. Sachin Sharma and Kannav contributed 13 and 11 runs respectfully.
For Jammu Rising Stars, Abhay Tondon bagged 3 wickets, Ashim took 2 wickets, while Laith and  Jugjab claimed  1 wicket each.
Abhay Tondon was declared as man of the match.
For taking 9 wickets and scoring 102 runs in the Series, Praful Dhar was adjudged as Man of the Series (MOS), while Sachin Sharma, who scored 150 runs in the Series was declared as best batsman and Abhay Tondon, who took 8 wickets in the Series was named as  best bowler.
Jung Bahadur, member State Human Rights Commission was Chief Guest on the valedictory function while  SSP RK Bhat was the Guest of Honour on the occasion. The Chief Guest distributed the trophies and other prizes in presence of SSP RK Bhat, DySP Vivek Shekher, Vijay Saberwal, Rajesh Dhar and Rajesh Gill.
In his address, Jung Bahadur while lavishing praise for the organizers for conducting the event smoothly for the school cricketers, announced that the more events will be organized for the budding cricketers after the final exams this season.
The final and other matches were officiated by Shugul, Sandeep Manchanda,  and Vinod whereas the proceedings of the valedictory function were conducted by Rajesh Dhar.
The Organizing Committee members included Hilal Rather, Rajesh Gill, Vivek Shekhar,Vinay Gupta, Sunil Sambyal, Vivek Sharma, Anand Tripathi and Vijay Saberwal.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.