District Jammu emerges overall champion in Wushu

Winners of Wushu Championship posing along with the chief guest, Dr Ashok Bhan and other dignitaries in Jammu on Saturday.
Winners of Wushu Championship posing along with the chief guest, Dr Ashok Bhan and other dignitaries in Jammu on Saturday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 30: District Jammu emerged overall champion in the 14th State Wushu Championship, organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Wushu Association at Indoor Complex, MA Stadium, here.
District Samba won the second place, while the third place was jointly claimed by Budgam and Srinagar districts.
Around 1100 athletes drawn from 20 districts of the State participated in this four days sporting extravaganza to vie for the top honours.
Dr Ashok Bhan, retired DGP J&K was the chief guest on the valedictory function, who distributed prizes among the winners, runners-up and third place holders on the occasion, besides medal winners from various districts and clubs.
Speaking on the occasion, he lauded the efforts of J&K Wushu Association for reaching in all the districts of the State and taking Wushu to new heights.
He said sports and other allied activities, apart from helping youth to be physically and mentally fit, helps them not to derail from the mainstream by keeping them away from the social evils like drugs.
While saying that sportspersons never fall prey to drugs and other evils, Dr  Bhan advised youth in general to shun drugs and take sports.
Dr Bhan said that Wushu is probably the only sport in the state which has the distinction of producing three medal winners at the international scene.
He appreciated ace Wushu players Rajinder Singh and Surya Bhanu Partap Singh for securing the medals in the World and Asian Wushu championships.
He also congratulated Kuldeep Handoo, Chief Coach of India for producing International stuff.
Ranjeet Kalra, Member BCCI and Vice Chairman, J&K State Sports Council presented welcome address and gave brief report of the championship.
President Jammu and Kashmir Wushu Association, Vijay Saraf presented the vote of thanks.
The proceedings of the programme were conducted by famous commentator Rajesh Dhar.
Prominent among the other dignitaries present on the occasion were Haji Abdul Qayoom, CSO Sports Council; Sunil Sharma, Vice President of the Association and Satish Gupta, Manager Indoor Complex, MA Stadium.
The gold medal winners in various categories were Redu Manhas, Vaibhavi Abrol, Saniya, Ayesha, Sana Basharat, Adfav Haroon, Daan Kour, Princy Mehra, Aahana, Tobish, Samiya Farooq, Shiksha, Manvi, Naffiafa, Munazah Gazi, Rupali, Riya Chib, Yashika Jamwal, Priya, Azmat Bibi, Samanyu, Himanshu Yadav, Raja Azmatullan, Airman, Aditya Thakur, Mugal, Idhant Gupta, Farhad, Hamiz Wani, Krishna, Syed Musab, Mannu, Sanamdeep, Zehaan Magroj, Vedhant Singh, Sahil, Om Baloria, Mohd Asif Malik, Divanshu Thappa, Raghav Soni, Rullallah, Maan Singh, Vinod Paul, mir Fasil, Arshad Ahmed, Angreh Wangroo, Sourav Singh, Mayank, Ravinder, Gulam Azad, Saleem, Amit Chargotra, Tanshiv, Rahul, Haqeek Ahmed, Karan Sumbria, Hiranya Mahajan, Sargun, Pratibha Lalotra, Ranjeet Singh, Ayush Sharma and Bhavneet Singh.