Vanshaj takes 5-for, Kanhaiya scores unbeaten 85 on Day-1

Kanhaiya Wadhawan Vanshaj Sharma
Kanhaiya Wadhawan Vanshaj Sharma

Sr Men’s Multi-Day tournament begins

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, July 26: Promising left-arm spinner Vanshaj Sharma spun web around the rival batsmen and took 5 important wickets to help JKCA A4 gain a vital first innings lead against JKCA A3 in a low scoring affair, while talented wicketkeeper/ batsman Kanhaiya Wadhawan scored magnificent unbeaten 85 runs to guide JKCA A2 to 181/5 in 71 overs against JKCA A1 before the play was called off due to rain on day-1 in the JKCA’s Senior Men’s Multi-Day Tournament, which got underway here today.
At Country Cricket Stadium Gharota, 21 wickets fell today.
Earlier, put into bat, JKCA A4 bundled out for a modest total of 139 runs in 36.1 overs in their first innings. Dhruv Parmar top scored with unbeaten 42 runs, while skipper Shubham Pundir and Sushant Shandal contributed 26 and 23 runs to the total respectively.
For JKCA A4, medium pacers Akash Choudhary and Nitish Salaria took 3 wickets each, while Sampark Gupta and Kunal Singh claimed 2 wickets each.
JKCA A3, in reply collapsed at a meagre total of 100 runs, thus conceding a vital lead of 39 runs to JKCA A4. Skipper Henan Malik was the only batsman to show some resistance, scoring valuable 44 runs, while no other batsman could show application. For JKCA A3, Vanshaj Sharma was the wrecker-in-chief who took 5 important wickets by conceding 28 runs in 12.1 overs, while Sahil Lotra and Sushant Shandal bagged 2 wickets each.
JKCA A4 were 39/1 in their second essay at the draw of stumps on Day-1 today. Explosive Arya Thakur was unbeaten on 28 runs.
At Jammu University ground, JKCA A2 after put into bat were 181/5 in 71 overs when the play was called off due to rain. Kanhaiya Wadhawan was unbeaten on magnificent 85 runs, while Govind Sharma was at the crease on 59 runs. For JKCA A1, Basharat took 2 wickets, while Rohit Sharma and Abid Mushtaq claimed 1 wicket each.
The matches were officiated by Vikram Dogra, Deepak Gupta, Dayal Singh and Vikas Bali as Umpires, while Ashok Singh and Sabastian Frank were the scorers.