Rohan Koul sparkles as KC Strikers, Martand Sunrisers log big wins

Manager MA Stadium Satish Gupta presenting man of match trophy to Roshan Koul at MA Stadium on Friday.
Manager MA Stadium Satish Gupta presenting man of match trophy to Roshan Koul at MA Stadium on Friday.

Kashmiri Pandit Premier League

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 20: Talented batting all-rounder Rohan Koul blossomed as KC Young Strikers and Martand Sunrisers registered big victories over their rivals in the ongoing Kashmiri Pandit Premier League, being held under the banner of Iqwaat Sports Organisation, an initiative of Kashmiri Pandit Samaj at MA Stadium, here.
Winning the toss and batting first, KC Young Strikers scored a good total of 154 runs in stipulated 20 overs by losing four wickets. Rohan Koul played a brilliant innings of 83 runs off 49 balls, studded with 8 boundaries and 3 sixes, while Sidarth Bhat and Sanchit Dass contributed 32 and unbeaten 25 runs respectively. For Fighters XI, Sagar Pandita captured three important wickets, while Sumit Pandita claimed one wicket.
In reply Fighters XI bundled out for 90 runs, thus lost the match by 55 runs. Manoj Bhat top scored with 31 runs, while Arvind Raina contributed 14 runs to the total. Rohan Koul bagged three important wickets, while skipper Vicky Raina claimed two wickets. Rohan Koul was adjudged as man of the match for his superb all- round display.
Earlier, in the first match, Martand Sunrisers won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first Martand Sunrisers scored a fighting total of 145 runs in the allotted 20 overs by losing five wickets. Vinod Koul played a superb innings of 68 runs off 54 balls including 11 crispy boundaries while Vikas Pandita and Rakesh Raina contributed 15 runs each. Rakesh Koul and Amit Khar bagged two wickets each for Kashmir Rangers, while Sagar claimed one wicket.
In reply, Kashmir Rangers bundled out for paltry 49 runs to lose the match by a big margin of 96 runs. For Martand Sunrisers, Sunil Dutt was the pick of the bowlers, who took five important wickets by conceding just 14 runs while Vijay Ambardar took three wickets and Rakesh Raina claimed two wickets. Sunil Dutt was declared as the man of the match for his fabulous bowling display.
The matches were officiated by Vijay Raina, BK Tickoo and Sanjay Raina, while the tournament is being organised under the overall supervision of organisers Rajesh Dhar, Ankur Bagati and Ashish Kachroo.