J&K suffers humiliating defeat, stands at bottom

Cooch Behar Trophy

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 29: After its pathetic performance in the Vinoo Mankad Trophy earlier this season, the poor show of Jammu and Kashmir under-19 team continued in Cooch Behar Trophy as it suffered a 7-wicket humiliating defeat against Baroda and ended its campaign in the group stage and stood at the bottom of the 6-team group.
In its last match at the group stage, J&K lost to Baroda in an easy contest at Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex, Vizag, today.
Earlier, batting first, J&K batters again displayed a poor show and the team bundled out for a paltry total of 131 runs in 40 overs in the first innings. Jugjap Singh top scored with 30 runs off 36 balls, studded with 5 boundaries, while Abid Hussain contributed 21 off 46 balls with 4 boundaries. Skipper Manzir (14), Arya Thakur (10) and Nityam Abrol (10) were the other batsmen to reach double figure mark. Raj Limbani was the wrecker-in-chief for Baroda, who captured 5 wickets by conceding 39 runs in his 13 overs, while Karan Umatt bagged 4 wickets by giving away 53 runs in his 16 overs. Harsh Desai also claimed one wicket.
Baroda, in reply scored 205 runs to gain a vital first innings lead of 74 runs. Skipper Harsh Desai top scored with 52 runs off 71 balls, studded with 11 boundaries, while Piyanshu Moliya contributed 29 runs off 53 balls including 5 delectable fours. Yatharth Ghunchala contributed 26 and 23 runs to the total respectively. For Jammu and Kashmir, Dhruv Singh Parmar took 4 wickets, while Basit Bashir bagged 3 wickets. Jasbir Singh and Ranjot Singh claimed one wicket each.
J&K scored 223 runs in the second essay, thus setting a target of 150 runs for Baroda. Akshit Gandral top scored with 80 runs off 69 balls including 13 boundaries, while Jugjap Singh contributed 33 runs and Jasbir Singh made 32 runs.
Karan Umatt captured 5 wickets for Baroda, while Raj Limbani bagged 3 wickets and Harsh Desai claimed one.
Baroda achieved the target in 39.5 overs by losing 3 wickets. Skipper Harsh Desai scored magnificent 82 runs including 15 fours and 1 six, while Bhavishya Patel contributed 29 runs. For J&K, Dhruv Singh Parmar took 2 wickets, while Jasbir Singh claimed 1 wicket.