J&K seals berth in Pre-QFs as players show promise, composure

DG Sports, Dr Saleem-ur-Rehman interacting with spikers at Khel Gaon, Nagrota in Jammu on Tuesday.
DG Sports, Dr Saleem-ur-Rehman interacting with spikers at Khel Gaon, Nagrota in Jammu on Tuesday.

65th National School Games U-17 Boys Volleyball
*Huge gathering of spectators witnesses Day-2 matches

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 10: Hosts Jammu and Kashmir drubbed Manipur to seal berth in the Pre-Quarterfinals of the ongoing 65th National School Games Under-17 Boys Volleyball Tournament at Khel Gaon, Nagrota, near here today.
A huge gathering of spectators witnessed the local boys showing composure, serenity and promise to outwit the opponents.
Jammu and Kashmir defeated Manipur in straight sets by (2-0) with the final scores as (25-23, 25-19).
Director General Youth Services and Sports, Dr Saleem-ur-Rehman, accompanied by Joint Director Bashir Ahmed visited the venue and interacted with the players of various teams.
While advising young players to play with sporting spirit, the Director General said the sports serves for delight, for ornament and for agility & ability.
He said more than 500 spikers from 34 teams of different parts of the country are taking part in a five-day long event.
Meanwhile, in other matches, Puduchery defeated Bihar by 2-1 (28-26, 20-25, 18-16); Tripura trounced Lakshadweep 2-1 (19-25, 25-22, 15-8) ; Karnataka beat Dadar & Nagar Haveli 2-0 (25-5, 25-7); Rajasthan defeated Maharashtra 2-0 (25-19, 25-16); Delhi got the beter of Andhara Pradesh 2-0 (25-23, 25-13); NVS prevailed over IPSC 2-0 (30-28, 25-14); Haryana trounced Chandigarh 2-0 (25-13, 25-3); Puduchery beat Odisha 2-0 (25-20, 25-20); Gujarat outplayed Jharkhand 2-0 (25-13, 25-14); Tamil Nadu defeated Lakshadweep 2-0 (25-17,25-10); Maharashtra outclassed Bihar 2-1 (23-25, 25-20, 15-11); UP Schools prevailed over Manipur 2-0 (25-17, 25-10); Uttrakhand defeated Andhra Pradesh 2-0 (28-26, 25-23); Tripura trounced Dadar & Nagar Haveli 2-0 (25-12, 25-18); Telangana prevailed over IPSC 2-0 (25-7, 25-17); Chhattisgarh defeated Daman Diu 2-0 (25-115, 25-11); Kerala got the better of Vidya Bharti 2-0 (25-20, 25-21) and KVS defeated NVS by 2-0 (25-15, 25-23).