IZDL Cricket tournament gets underway

Winning teams posing for a group photograph along with Dignitaries at Khel Gaon Nagrota, Jammu on Monday.
Winning teams posing for a group photograph along with Dignitaries at Khel Gaon Nagrota, Jammu on Monday.

Gandhi Nagar, Satwari Zones emerge winners in Cricket U-17

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 28: Inter-Zonal District Level Cricket U-17 (Boys) tournament, organised by Department of Youth Services and Sports got underway at Khel Gaon Nagrota, here today.
In first match of U-17 Boys category, Gandhi Nagar Zone trounced Akhnoor by 111 runs. Batting first, Gandhi Nagar scored 151 runs by losing 1 wicket in stipulated 10 overs. Gursimran made 57 runs and Paras contributed 34 runs to total. For Akhnoor, Anshu got one wicket.
In reply, Akhnoor Zone bundled out at 40 runs in 9.1 overs. For Gandhi Nagar, Prabjot took 3 wickets and Tejvansh clinched 2 wickets.
In 2nd match, Satwari Zone beat Zone Dansal by 10 wickets. Batting first, Dansal made 71 runs by losing 3 wickets in stipulated 10 overs. Shaurya scored 32 while Rishav made 23 runs. Kanshuk bagged 2 wickets and Manshdeep clinched 1 wicket for Satwari.
Chasing the target, Satwari won the match in 9.3 overs. Shavak made 45 runs and Sujal scored 10 runs.
The matches were officiated by panel of experts of Department of Youth Services & Sports District Jammu.
SSP Rural, Suram Singh was the chief guest of the opening ceremony. He was accompanied by SHO Nagrota. The event was organised under the leadership of DYSSO, Sukhdev Raj Sharma, ZPEO Jammu Jasbir Singh, Chander Kanta, ZPEO Gandhi Nagar and Anju Gupta, ZPEO Marh.
Meanwhile, three days Inter-Zonal District Level U-14, U-17 &U-19 in disciplines of Volleyball and Kho-Kho tournament commenced at Srinagar.
The matches of U-14 in Kho-Kho and Volleyball were played at BHSS Zadibal, while for U-17 Kho-Kho and Volleyball matches for boys were played at MPM BHSS Bage Dilawar and U-19 Boys category matches were played at Gindun Ground Srinagar.
Zone Batamaloo defeated Zone Nishat while Zone Gulabagh and Zone Eidgah were awarded walk overs as Zone Hawal and Zone Amirakadal didn’t turn up in Volleyball U-14 Boys category whereas Nishat trounced Rainawari, Hawal and Gulabagh were awarded walk overs as Amirakadal and Zaldagar didn’t turn up in U-14 Kho-Kho Boys category.
In U-17 Boys Volleyball, Batamaloo beat Nishat, Gulabagh defeated Hawal and Eidgah was given walk over as Amirakadal didn’t participated whereas in U-17 Kho-Kho category, Hawal beat Amirakadal and Nishat defeated Rainawari.
In U-19 Boys Volleyball, Amirakadal trounced Eidgah, Gulabagh beat Hawal and Nishat prevailed over Batamaloo whereas under same category in Kho-Kho, Zaldagar takes over Gulabagh, while Hawal and Rainawari got walk over as Amirakadal and Rainawari didn’t turn up.