Economics & English Deptts register convincing wins; sail to next round

Excelsior  Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Apr 5: Economics and English Departments registered convincing wins in their respective matches and sailed into the next round of the cricket event, organized during the ongoing Inter-Department Tournament (Men) by Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu at varsity ground here today.
In the first match of the day, Economics Department registered 8 wickets victory over Zoology Department.
Electing to bat first, Zoology Department scored 123 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 16 overs. Ajaz scored 23 runs, while Adil, Anil and Avinash contributed 21, 20 and 14 runs respectively.
For Economics Department side, Anoop, Sukhwinder and Mohsin scalped 2 wickets, while Faheem took one wicket.
While batting, Economics Department chased the target in just 12.2 overs by losing just 2 wickets. Nikhil was the top scorer with 57 runs including 9 balls towards the fence. Sukhwinder, Rajesh and Shashi chipped in 18, 14 and 13 runs respectively.
For Zoology Department side, Sunil and Kapil took one wicket apiece.
In the second match, English Department thrashed Geography Department by 7 wickets and registered their birth in the next round of the tournament.
Electing to bat first after winning the toss, Geography Department scored 156 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in allotted 20 overs. Lokinder Singh played well and chipped in some crispy shots in his 69 runs contribution including 9 boundaries, while Sahil and Sarbjeet also made 18 and 16 runs respectively.
For English Department side, Stanzin was the wrecker-in-chief who took 4 wickets, while Sajad also proved his worth by taking 3 wickets. In second inning, Manjeet’s 46 runs contribution guided English Department to chase the target in 17.4 overs, with the loss of just 3 wickets during the process. Aabir also played well and chipped in 34 runs, while Ashish and Sajad also contributed 32 and 14 runs respectively.
For Geography Department side, Lokinder and Rohit took one wicket apiece.
The matches were officiated by Vijay Dogra, Suresh Singh, Raj Kumar and Suresh Singh as umpires, while Sat Pal and Manu Khajuria maintained the scoreboards.