District Kickboxing C’ship organised

A dignitary being awarded during the championship at Udhampur on Saturday.
A dignitary being awarded during the championship at Udhampur on Saturday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, July 30: First Udhampur District Kickboxing Championship, organised by District Association was inaugurated at Town Hall, here under the aegis of Kickboxing Association J&K dully affiliated with WAKO India Kickboxing Federation.
Amit Choudhary Chief Executive Officer Municipal Council Udhampur was the chief guest who inaugurated the event. He also congratulated and appreciated the efforts of the organizing committee for organizing such an event.
The championship is being organised under the chairmanship of Abhishek Jain general secretary Kickboxing Championship J&K and under the supervision of Sunil Magotra general secretary District Association.
“In total around 120 participants from all over the district contested for the top honours in different age and weight categories,” informed Sunil Magotra.
Among others who were present were Ashok Sharma vice president J&K Kabaddi Association, Manmeet Singh president Kargil Martyrs Club, Vinod Dogra, Pawan Jamwal, Avinash Padha, Akhil Bandral and Sidharth Sharma.
All the bouts were officiated under the technical guidance of Danish Padha Technical Director Kickboxing Association J&K along with Deepanshu Gupta Referee, Himanshu Shekhar, Nitin Rathore, Rishi Kumar Sharma, Vipin Photra, Ravi Kumar and Anshu Brat Khanna (Officials of DYSS Department Udhampur).
In under-24 kg, Tanvir Singh secured Gold and Sutikshan bagged Silver, while in under 28 kg, Rakshak Sharma, Rakshit Gupta and Ritish Bandotra won top three medals respectively and in under 32 kg, Pankaj Kumar (Gold), Sanchit Bhagar (Silver) and Jugal Bandotra & Rahul Kumar (Bronze medals), besides in under-36 kg, Arnav Prashar (Gold), Shivam Singh (Silver) and Anish Verma & Mukesh Bhardwaj shared Bronze medal.
In under-42 kg, Shivansh Sharma (Gold), Harshvardhan (Silver) and Arnav Sharma (Bronze), while in under-47 kg, Mubasher Wani (Gold) and Rakshak Gupta (Silver).