DDC Udhampur declares open inter-zonal meet of DYSS

Teams posing alongwith chief guest, DDC Udhampur, Dr Piyush Singla at Sports Stadium, Udhampur on Monday.
Teams posing alongwith chief guest, DDC Udhampur, Dr Piyush Singla at Sports Stadium, Udhampur on Monday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

UDHAMPUR, May 20: District Development Commissioner (DDC) Udhampur, Dr Piyush Singla declared open the annual inter-zonal district level boys under-14 and under-17 competitions, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS), in different disciplines at Sports Stadium here today.
The chief guest interacted with the participating teams and also witnessed the matches. The competition is being held under the overall supervision of district officer (DYSS), Khairati Lal Sharma.
The Results:
KABADDI: Chenani defeated Panchari zone in under-14 final while Udhampur beat Babey in under-17 age group.
VOLLEYBALL: Chenani zone won both under-14 and under-17 titles. In under-14 final, Chenani trounced Udhampur and then trounced Ghorti zone for the under-17 title.
KHO-KHO: Chenani dominated in Kho-Kho too winning both under-14 and under-17 finals. In both the finals, Chenani beat Udhampur zone
WRESTLING: Under-17 yrs: 40-45 kg: Jagir Singh, Kulwanta, Ist. 46-50: Rohit Kumar, Majalta, Ist. 51 to 55 kg: Amit Kumar, Ghordi, Ist. 56 to 60: Arun Sharma, Ramnagar, Ist. Under-14 yrs: 35-40 kg: Manjeet Singh, Udhampur, Ist. 30-35 kg: Arjun Singh, Jib, Ist. 46-50 kg: Switter Singh, Udhampur, Ist.
The competition in different disciplines officiated by the technical penal comprising Rakesh Modi, Romesh Chander, Rakesh Sawhney, Pushp Kumar, Ram Kumar, Raj Kumar Gupta, Vinod Khajuria, Raj Kumar Dogra, Raman Kumar, Pooja Sharma, Veena Devi, Radha Devi, Jyoti Sharma, Kuldeep Kumar, Naveen Kumar, Amit Kumar, Surinder Gupta, Suresh Pal, Manik Nargotra, Sanjeev Verma, Vikrant, Vikram Singh, Yashpal, Visnoo Pardeep and Mohd Khalid.
Among others present were ZPEO Panchari Pawan Sharma, ZPEO Tikri Veer Ji Bhat, ZPEO Udhampur Santosh Kumari, Jaswinder Singh, Sanjay Gupta, Deepika Manhas, Som Dev Khajuria, Swarndeep Singh Tara, Raman Gupta, Anupama and Sudesh Kumar.