Amir’s heroics help BCC Bulls to lift PPCPL title trophy

Jubilant players of BCC Bulls team posing along with chief guest and guest of honour while holding winners trophy at GGM Science College ground in Jammu on Friday.
Jubilant players of BCC Bulls team posing along with chief guest and guest of honour while holding winners trophy at GGM Science College ground in Jammu on Friday.

*Similar cricketing extravaganza in Kashmir soon: DGP

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, May 1: Outplaying the formidable and star-studded team of Simula Superstars in a thriller by 4 wickets in the summit clash, the cohesive unit of BCC Bulls rode on a heroic knock of 49 runs by Amir Sofi and lifted the title trophy of the Police Public Cricket Premier League (PPCPL), organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Police Department at GGM Science College Hostel ground, here today.
Dr Nirmal Kumar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister was the chief guest on the valedictory function, while K Rajendra Kumar, DGP J&K and chairman of the League was the guest of honour.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest lavished praise on the organizers for holding such mega sports event and said that sports serves for delight, for ornament and for agility, adding that sports and games help youth not to derail from the mainstream and shun drugs and allied things.
Speaking on the occasion, the DGP also commended the role of police in involving young generation in sports activities to keep them away from social evils. He also said that the motive behind organizing this tournament is to bridge the gap between police and public and to promote sports culture.
Mr Rajendra also announced that a similar kind of tournament will be organized in the Valley very soon.
The participating 10 teams in the tournament included Simula Superstars, Jammu Khalsa Kings XI, Jammu Royal Choice XI, Ishar Daredevils, Chenab Tigers Bhaderwah, Chenab Gas Royals Jammu, BCC Bulls Banihal, Kashmir Steel Warriors, JKP Tigers and Banihal Knight Riders.
Among the senior officers Dr. S.P.Vaid, ADGP Hqrs. PHQ, Dilbag Singh, MD PHC, H K Lohia, IGP Tech. PHQ, Danesh Rana, IGP Jammu Zone, Yoginder Koul, IGP, Sham Lal Sharma, IGP, Shakeel Ahmed Beig, DIG Jammu and General Secretary of the League, Ashkoor Wani DIG, Traffic and Pawan Gupta, Director Prosecution PHQ. Vice president, BCCI and General Secretary JKCA was also present on the occasion.
Earlier, in the final, Simula Superstars winning the toss and batting first, scored a decent total of 137 runs in the stipulated 15 overs. Dhruv Mahajan was the top scorer with 51, while Hilal Rather contributed with 29 runs. Rompy Sharma took 2 wickets for BCC Bulls, while Amir Aziz and Satish Kumar claimed one wicket each.
In reply, BCC Bulls chased well and defeated Simula Superstars by 4 wickets in a match which simply was a thriller. Amir Sofi played a gem of an innings of 49 runs, while Imran Haroon contributed 39 runs to the total. Amir Sofi was declared as man of the match.
A cheque of Rs 5 lakh was awarded to BCC Bulls, while Rs 3 lakh to the runner-up team, Simula Superstars, Rs 2 lakh to Chenab Gas Royals for claiming 3rd place and Rs 1.5 lakh to Jammu Khalsa Kings XI for securing the 4th spot.. Man of the Series cash prize of Rs 50,000 and trophy was awarded to Bandeep Singh of Chenab Gas Royals, a cash prize of Rs 25,000 alongwith trophies each was awarded to Atul Sharma of Simula Superstars who was declared best batsman of the tournament and Amir Sofi who was named best bowler of the tournament.
The proceedings of the valedictory function were conducted by the anchors Rajesh Dhar and R P Singh.
The matches of the tournament were officiated by a panel of experts namely Sudhir Singh, Saleem-ur-Rehman, Amit Gupta, Sadiq Hussain Malik, JD Singh and Harvinder Singh.