Akhnoor Veterans beats Kameshwar Club by 8 wkts

Winning team posing for a group photograph at Akhnoor on Saturday.
Winning team posing for a group photograph at Akhnoor on Saturday.

Veteran Cricket Cup Akhnoor

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, July 3: Akhnoor CC Veteran trounced Kameshwar Club by eight wickets in Veterans Cricket Cup Akhnoor, being played at Govt Higher Secondary School Akhnoor, here today.
Kameshwar CC won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, the Kameshwar CC scored 124 runs on the loss of six wickets in stipulated 20 overs wherein Gopal Dass made 22 runs off 31 balls while Vikas Virdhi and Raju Singh contributed 39 and 18 runs in 35 and 19 balls respectively. From bowling side, Deepak Sharma, Mannu and Dimpy Sharma clinched one wicket each for their team.
In reply, Akhnoor Veterans chased the target easily by losing only two wickets in 14.2 overs and registered victory over the opponent by eight wickets. Deepak Sharma made highest 48 runs off 35 balls, whereas Rahul Langer and Bandhral contributed 31 and 16 runs respectively. From bowling side, Ajay Gupta was the only bowler who clinched one wicket for his team.
Deepak Sharma was declared as man of the match for his outstanding performance. Rajinder Sharma and Vikas Bali were umpires and Dev Pal acted as scorer.
The tournament is being organized by Singh Cricket Club Akhnoor under the overall supervision of Kr. Sham Singh Langeh.