Ajay of J&K lifts 7th Chak Morh Dangal title

Wrestlers contesting for the title bout being introduced by the guests at Chak More in Udhampur.
Wrestlers contesting for the title bout being introduced by the guests at Chak More in Udhampur.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, July 13: Wrestler Ajay Sharma of Roun -Domail Akhara Udhampur defeated Wrestler Labhu of Phagwara in Punjab in the 21-minute long close contest for the main bout to lift the 7th Annual Chak Morh (Chopra Shop) Dangal title.
Dangal was organized by Chak Morh Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the overall supervision of Committee president, Satish Kumar and Ashok Kumar (Sosha).
Top wrestlers from across the Northern States participated in this famous and historic dangal which attracted a gathering of nearly 12,000 people from Jammu Province.
Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Udhampur, Rajiv Pandey was the chief guest, who distributed cash prizes worth Rs. 3,10,000 among winning men and women wrestlers. In total, 62 prominent wrestlers participated in this day-long event.
Winner of the main bout, Ajay Sharma awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 17,000 while runners-up, Labhu got Rs 14,000. Similarly, in second main bout, Kirati of Garh Shanker (Punjab) emerged winner beating Nisar of Doda to become rich by Rs 12,000 and Rs 9,000 respectivley. The third main bout won by Babba of Kot Bhalwal, who defeated Sonu of Delhi while in fourth bout Gunga of Garh Shanker in Punjab trounced Munner Khan of Nagrota Jammu.
Senior BJP leader, Pawan Khajuria presided over the function. Former Joint Secretary of J&K State Sports Council and president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was guest of honour.
Prominent persons present on the occasion were vice president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), vice chairman of the Association, Sohan Singh (Sonu) and general secretary of Udhampur District Indian Style Wrestling Association, Om Parkash Verma and Kamal Kishore, DySP Rohit, Colonel (Retired) Balwan Singh, SHO Ajay Bhat and Chuni Lal Dogra. Sohan Singh (Sonu).
Members and technical officials who helped for the smooth conduct of this event included Satish Kumar (president), Ashok Kumar (Sosha), Rajinder Sharma (Panch) Som Raj, Vijay Koda, Dalip Kumar Sharma, Vijay Padnoo, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Om Parkash Verma, Rajinder Kumar Ramotra, Raj Singh, Mohd. Fareed, Sunny Sharma (Airtel) and Subedar (Retd.) Darshan Singh.
Three wrestlers, Madan Singh of Reasi, Bharat Bushan of Jammu and Gunga of Punjab declared best wrestlers of this Dangal.
All the them were honoured by Chak Morh Dangal Committee presenting Track Suits through Pawan Khajuria, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Satish Kumar.