49th UT level Badminton C’ship concludes with prize distribution

Winners posing for a group photograph along with dignitaries at MA Stadium on Thursday.
Winners posing for a group photograph along with dignitaries at MA Stadium on Thursday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 9: The 49th UT level Badminton Championship, organised by Badminton Association of Jammu and Kashmir concluded with prize distribution function at Indoor Sports Complex MA Stadium, here today.
The players and distinguished guests were present during the closing ceremony of the event.
Rajinder Sharma, Mayor JMC was the chief guest who gave away the prizes to winners and runners-up by handing over trophies. The event was presided over by former Minister Chander Prakash Ganga, president BAJK and office bearers and dignitaries including Dr OD Sharma, chairman BAJK, Fayaz Ahmed, joint secretary, Irfan Ullah Shah vice chairman, Rajiv Sharma, Member JKSC, Ashok Singh DSO Jammu, Satish Gupta Manager MA Stadium, DV Sharma vice chairman, Dr Satish Chander vice chairman and Balbir Singh Jamwal were present during the event.
The matches were conducted under the supervision of Rahul Shamra, chief referee, assisted by Touseef Ahmed, Vikram Saini, Divum Gupta (coaches), Sukhdev Singh, Vivek Mehta, Anil gurkha, Waseem Rather, Bharat Bhushan, Pawanjit Singh as technical officials.
The chief guest stressed the need for more and more sports among the youth and assured that the required infrastructure for this will be coming up.
Harsh Sharma and Ibrahim Yusuf stood 1st and 2nd in boys singles under-11, while Paavni Gupta and Tara Shah remained 1st and 2nd in girls category respectively, in boys singles under-13, Gopesh Singh and Harsh Sharma stood 1st and 2nd respectively, while in girls category, Suhani Sharma and Gania Singh bagged 1st and 2nd positions respectively.
In boys singles under-15, Bhavdeep Singh-1st , Gopesh Singh-2nd, while in girls singles, Shambhavi Rajput-1st and Antima-2nd, while in girls doubles under-15, Antima & Sherya-1st and Suhani and Gania-2nd and in boys singles under-17, Vaibhav Mehta-1st and Ibrahim Qureshi-2nd, while in girls singles, Shambhavi Rajpur-winner and Krishika Mahajan- runner-up.
In boys single under-19, Thakur Ayush-winner and Vaibhav Mehta-runner-up, while boys doubles under-19, Neeelkanth/Ayush-1st and Sant/Bhavdeep/Sant-2nd, while girls singles under-19, Krishika Mahajan-1st and Unnati Jaral-2nd, in men singles, Bhavya Sharma-1st and Vipul Saini-2nd and in women singles, Unnati Jaral-1st and Krishika Mahajan-2nd, whereas in women doubles, Unnati/Krishika-1st and Shambhavi/Shrijus-2nd, besides in mixed doubles, Bhavya/ Krishika-1st and Vipul Saini/ Unnati-2nd.