Jodhamal organizes 1st Annual Political Science event ‘Polifest’

Winners of Polifest posing for a group photograph alongwith dignitaries at Jodhamal School in Jammu.
Winners of Polifest posing for a group photograph alongwith dignitaries at Jodhamal School in Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 31: The Polit-ical Science Department of Jodhamal Public School organized the first annual Political Science Event ‘Polifest’ in 15 different schools from Jammu and Punjab participated.
The event involved a power point presentation followed by a debate competition on the topic “Global Citizenship-A Growing Concern For Developing Economies”.
The beginning of the event was marked by a documentary on refugees prepared by the students of humanities stream of JMPS and followed by the power point presentation by the students of different schools.
The participating schools were GGHSS Mubarak Mandi, GGHSS Canal Road, GGHSS Shastri Nagar, GHSS Chhanni, GGHSS Rehari and the Private schools from Jammu & Punjab. This was an initiative of Jodhamal Public School to provide an opportunity to both Government as well as Private Convent Schools to be at one platform to learn from each other.
The students in both the competitions showcased a marvelous display of their concerted efforts in research work and witnessed a wonderful exchange of ideas related to the most pertinent topic at the global level.
The chief guest for the first season of Polifest was retired Justice, OP Sharma and the guest of honour was Naveen Chopra, renowned educationist.
The adjudicators of the event were Prof M. Tajjudin, HoD Political Science, University of Jammu, Dr Seema Rohmetra, Assistant professor Law School, University of Jammu and Dr Seema Sharma, Sr. Assistant professor Law School, University of Jammu.
In debate the first position was bagged by Mansimranjot Kour from DAV Public School Amritsar and Asees Kaur of Jodhamal, the second and third prizes were won by Alisha and Rehana from GGHSS Mubarak Mandi respectively.
In the Power Point Presentation, the first prize was won by Harshvardan Oberoi and Krishnam Vaid from DAV Public School Amritsar, the second position was shared by Riya Thappa and Sanya Sharma from GGHSS Mubarak Mandi and Manpriya Kour and Nidhi Singh from Presentation Convent Higher Secondary School and the third prize was bagged by Shivam Sharma and Nishta Aggarwal from Model Academy school.
The Principal of JMPS, Trilok Singh Bist and Vice Principal, Monika Sethi applauded the students for their concerted efforts and appreciated the efforts put in by their mentor Mubeen Butt, PGT Political Science. He also appreciated Abhaas Verma in extending support.
Judges on the event Dr. Seema Rohmetra and Dr. Seema Sharma joined Prof. Tajjudin in appreciating the involvement of Government Schools to get them exposure with their counterparts in the Private Schools.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Nandan Kuthiala the Trustee of Jodhamal, Arati Kuthiala the Director , Jodhamal, coordinators Ranju Malhotra, Urmila Kaul, Neetu Gupta and many Ph.D. scholars from the Political Science Department of Jammu University.