Two-day Farooq Memorial Open Taekwondo C’ship organized

Little Taekwondo players in action during a bout at Sher-e-Kashmir Indoor Sports Complex, Srinagar.
Little Taekwondo players in action during a bout at Sher-e-Kashmir Indoor Sports Complex, Srinagar.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

SRINAGAR, May 31: The two-day Farooq Memorial Open Taekwondo Championship was inaugurated today at Sher-e-Kashmir Indoor Sports Complex, here.
The Championship was held under the emblem of My Youth My Pride and was organized by J&K Taekwondo Association (Regd) under the aegis of Taekwondo Federation of India, In the Sweet memory of Late Janab Farooq Ahmed (Founder of Taekwondo in Kashmir). There was no entry fee in the event. Sound System and Refreshment for the athletes was sponsored by Indian Army (Chinar Corps).
The Competition was comprised of all age divisions with inclusion of the youngest age division (Pee Wee). The first day witnessed a massive combative skill show between the Senior and Junior Athletes in both male and female categories. More than 700 players participated in different weight categories from all districts of J&K.
The opening ceremony was addressed by Subash Chander Chhibber (Director, DYSS) who graced the occasion as chief guest along with Rouf Ahmed Bhat (Sports Promoter and Under Secretary to Government) and Ishfaq Ahmed (former International football player and Head Coach, Kerala Blasters Football Club), guests of honour. Special guests of the event were Hilal Ahmed and Shafiq Ahmed in the event.
The chief guest with the other dignitaries of JKTA distributed medals among all the medalists and mementoes of honour were given to Coaches/Referees also.
The Championship was headed by Nissar Ahmed (vice president, JKTA) with support of Anees Bhat, Rohit Sharma, Faisal Tanvir and Zain Nazir and the Technical Team. Fairplay decisions throughout the Championship were led by Atul Pangotra (International Referee, WT).
In the referee panel were Vinod Garewal, Shanaz Parveen, Farooq Ahmed Malik, Tanveer Ahmed Ganie, Suhail Ahmed Khan, Hashim Majeed, Shah Faiq, Aqib Gulzar, Adeeba Khursheed, Kushagra Sharma, Humaira Manzoor, Shah Faisal, Faizan Ahmed Butt, Musadiq Qayoom, Dushyant Kapta, Kartik Sharma and Tabin Muzafar.
All the Medalists will represent J&K in the forthcoming LG Cup All India Taekwondo Championships – 2023.