Sunil inaugurates 12th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket C’ship

Minister of State for Sports, Sunil Kumar Sharma inaugurating 12th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Tournament at Doda.
Minister of State for Sports, Sunil Kumar Sharma inaugurating 12th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Tournament at Doda.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
DODA, May 3: Minister of State for Sports J&K, Sunil Sharma today inaugurated the All India 12th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship 2016 at Sports Stadium here.
The tournament is being organized by Young Star Cricket Club Doda and sponsored by Rashtriya Rifles Battalion Doda.
MLA Doda, Shakti Raj Parihar and Commanding Officer 10RR Col Mirtunge Upadhya were the guests of honour while Assistant Commissioner Revenue Ranjeet Singh, Principal GDC Bhaderwah Prof Zaheer Abass Hashmi, Principal GMHSS Doda Om Prakash Chandail, Chairman YSCC Naseer Khora and Social Activist Shahnawaz Gattu were the special guests.
Speaking on the occasion, the Minister called upon the youth of J&K particularly Chenab region to participate in sports activities whole heartedly and said that there is no dearth of talent among the youth of this region, adding that there is the need of hour to channelize their talent in the right direction. Sunil Sharma also appreciated the efforts of Young Star Cricket Club Doda for organizing such mega event saying that this would provide a platform to the interested youth in the sports to show their hidden talent. The Minister also assured the YSCC Doda that every possible help from the State Govt would be provide to make this grand event successful.
MLA Doda Shakti Raj Parihar in his speech also appreciated the role of YSCC Doda for organizing such event and said that such event would definitely provide a requisite platform to the budding talent of this region.
The inaugural match was played between Durga Ramban and Usman Cricket Club Bhaderwah (UCCB). Batting first, after winning the toss, Durga Ramban set a target of 120 runs for the loss of all their wickets in 18.3 overs. Rajesh and Amreek scored 23 and 19 runs respectively while from UCCB Amir Mir and Waseem took 3 and 2 wickets.
In reply, UCCB managed to chase down the allotted target in 13.5 overs while losing six wickets. Amir Mir was the highest scorer who scored 35 runs whereas Mubasir contributed 26 runs for his team. From Durga Ramban, Deepak and Charan Singh took 2 wickets each.
Later on Amir Mir was declared as man of the match for his all- round performance.
The match was officiated by Munish Zutshi and Bharat Jajoriya as umpires, while Dheerendra Singh Bhadouriya was the scorer.