Strikers Club wins 1st Road Safety C’ship

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
Jammu, Jan 14: Strikers Cricket Club defeated Singh Cricket Club Akhnoor and lifted the 1st Road Safety T20 Cricket Championship, organized jointly by Road Safety Department, under the patronage of Sunil Sharma, Minister for Transport. Minister of State for Transport and Sports, Sunil Sharma was the chief guest on the occasion, while Ranjeet Kalra, Vice Chairman Sports Council Jammu, SSP RK Bhat, SP Headquarters Ramesh Kotwal and SP City Vinod Kumar were the guests of honour.
The chief guest and guests of honour distributed the prizes among the winners and runners-up teams on the occasion.
Strikers Cricket Club defeated Singh Cricket Club by 6 wickets.
Batting first, Singh Cricket Club scored 111 runs in 18.5 overs. Ravi was the top scorer with 26 runs, while Sonu (17) and Sumit (14) were the other contributors. Yasir took 4 wickets, while Hinan bagged 3 wickets. Arshad and Asif claimed 1 wicket each.
In reply, Strikers chased the target in 15.5 overs. Hinan scored 57 runs, while Muneeb contributed 27 runs to the total. Yudhveer Singh took 2 wickets, while Sonu and Amir claimed 1 wicket each. Hinan was adjudged as the man of the match and man of the series, while Yasir and Ishtiaq were declared as the best bowler and best batsman respectively.
The proceedings of the valedictory function were conducted by famous commentator RP Singh.