Sports extravaganzas like PPCPL to help J&K carve a space on Country’s sports map: Dr SD Singh

igp Jammu, Dr SD Singh and other dignitaries releasing fixture of PPCPL in Jammu on Saturday.
igp Jammu, Dr SD Singh and other dignitaries releasing fixture of PPCPL in Jammu on Saturday.

Praful, Shivam bag man of match awards
*Wheelocity Vishal Bulls, Vridhi Royals win ties
Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 25: Lavishing praise on cricket organisers for conceptualizing mega events like Police Public Cricket Premier League (PPCPL), Dr SD Singh Jamwal, IGP Jammu said that sports extravaganzas like this will go a long way in helping Jammu and Kashmir to carve a space on the Country’s sports map.
IGP Jammu said this while inaugurating Police Public Cricket League in the presence of Dr Vivek Gupta, SSP Jammu; Dr Tej Koul, Cricket Coach and former trainer of Indian Cricket team; Sham Saroop Kalsotra, Member JKCA; Ranjeet Kalra, Vice Chairman Jammu Sports Council, Arjun Choudhary MD KC Sports Club; Doud Iqbal Baba, Director Physical Education of Jammu University; Fr. Kuriakose, Chairman Christian Sports Organization; Aswinder Koul, Member Working Committee JKCA; CL Suri, President RCC Srinagar; Rajesh Sharma So to IGP Jammu; Kulvinder Singh SSP PCR; Dushyant Sharma SP Rural; Ramesh Kotwal SP Headquarter; Madan Mohan, DySP DAR; Sandeep SDPO Domana and Sandhya Gupta, President Meri Pehchan, besides Aswani Gupta, former skipper J&K Ranji Trophy team, Vivek Sharma former Ranji Trophy Player, Raj Kumar Bakshi Coach Jammu University, Jagtar Singh former Ranji Player, Sudhir Singh BCCI Level-1 Umpire, Sanjeev Sharma venue in-charge and Rajesh Gill former Ranji Trophy Player and Organizing Secretary of the League.
The eight participating teams include Simula Strikers, Elite Tigers, Horizon Kings, Wheelocity Vishal Bulls, KC Royals, Count & Fitness Hurricans, Vriddhi Royals and MS stars.
The franchise owners included Hilal Rather, Ramesh Mahajan, Ashish Singh, Atul Abrol, Arvind Koul, Robin Singh, Sanjeev Mahajan and Tajinder Singh.
The official sponsors of the league are Crazy Few Films, J&K Police & KC Sports Club whereas the co sponsors include Big FM 92.7, ACC Cements, Skoda, Pir Panchal Constructions, Surya Milk, Vivo, Rivazo Homes, Deccan Ply, Protinex and Teg Infrastructure.
The cash rich tournament has one lakh for winners and 50 thousand for runners-up, besides a galaxy of other cash prizes.
Earlier, brief note of the league was presented by Rajesh Gill, while the proceedings of the event were conducted by famous commentator and anchor Rajesh Dhar and Angelina Stephen.
Earlier, in the first match Wheelocity Vishal Bulls defeated Elite tigers by 9 wickets.
Put into bat, Elite Tigers scored 80 runs in 17 overs. Sawan Singh top scored with 14 runs, while Kanav and Uttkarsh contributed 12 and 11 runs respectively. From Wheelocity Vishal Bulls, Praful Dhar was the wrecker-in-chief, who took 4 important wickets, while Kawalpreet Singh took 2 wickets and Sachin claimed 1 wicket.
In reply, Wheelocity Vishal Bulls chased the target in 11.2 overs by losing just 1 wicket, thus won the match by 9 wickets. Raghav Thakur top scored with 47 runs, while Shivansh and Nikhil contributed 16 and 10 runs respectively. From bowling side, Mohd Aman took 1 wicket. For his brilliant bowling display, Praful Dhar was declared as the man of the match. He was awarded a cash prize of Rs 2000 sponsored by ACC Cements.
In another match, Vriddhi Royals defeated Horizon Kings in a close contest.
Batting first, Horizon Kings scored 86 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 15 overs. Arnav Gupta top scored with 26 runs, while Hrjeet Dogra and Abhinav Pandey contributed 17 and 12 runs resepctively. From bowling side, Dhruv took 2 wickets, while Nikhal and Tegvansh Singh took 1 wicket each.
In reply, Vriddhi Royals chased the target in 14.3 overs for the loss of 5 wickets thus won the match by 5 wickets. Shivam Koul top scored with 28 runs, while Aryan and Shavac contributed 16 and 14 runs resepctively. From bowling side Harjeet singh took 2 wickets, while Prayas, Adhishwer and Aryan claimed 1 wicket each. Shivam Koul was declared as the man of the match and was awarded with a cash prize of 2000.
The matches were officiated by Saleem Ur Rehman, Amit Gupta, Sham Singh, Sadiq Hussain, Sandeep and Sanju.