SP flags off 12th Marathon Run against drugs

Runners taking oath for running the movement against drug menace in Udhampur.
Runners taking oath for running the movement against drug menace in Udhampur.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, Aug 18: Intensifying Anti Drug Campaign at Udhampur, Chief Patron Dogra Kranti Dal (NGO), former MLA and NPP President, Balwant Singh Mankotia organised 12th Marathon Run in series against drug abuse which commenced from Sattani and concluded at Roun Domail, here today. Around 150 youth participated in the Marathon.
Additional SP Udhampur, Rajinder Katoch flagged off the Run as the chief guest.
He appealed the parents to join this movement against drugs.
Showing deep concern over increasing drugs at Udhampur on such fast rate, Mankotia said that to make Udhampur drug free was their prime goal and they are working at ground level by organising such marathons and sports activities.
He expressed anxiety over the spread of ‘Chitta’ named drug at such a fast rate during the past three years due to which many of the youngsters have lost their lives.
He appealed all the political and non political parties to come along to make Udhampur drug free.
Mankotia demanded for strict action against drug peddlers.
He informed that door to door awareness campaigns are being made to eradicate such a menace and to take stern action against drug peddlers.
Later, Mankotia also felicitated the winners.
Omveer Singh secured 1st position and won a cash award of Rs 3100, while Rakesh Kumar bagged 2nd position to win a cash prize of Rs 2100 and the 3rd place went to Jagdev Singh to win a cash prize of Rs 1100. Others runners who secured positions up to 10th rank included Ajay Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Munish Singh, Barun Singh, Sudesh Kumar, Raghubir Singh, Ganesh, Vikas Singh, Pankaj and Mohd Shakeel.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Sonu Pahalwan, Dara Singh, Vinod Sharma, Mangal Singh, Rattan Singh, Vikram Singh, Sohan Singh, Manzoor Hussain, Ramesh Panch, Kuldeep Singh, Des Raj, Shamlal Panch, Gurdev and Sham Lal Khajuria.