Shikander, Monu lift 16th Dangal title in Udhampur

Wrestlers being introduced by the dignitaries at Udhampur on Tuesday.
Wrestlers being introduced by the dignitaries at Udhampur on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, July 19: Shikander Sheikh of Maharashtra and Monu of Haryana jointly shared the title of 16th Battal Ballian Annual Dangal, organised at Industrial Area Ballain, here today.
The prize money for the first bout Rs 210000 was jointly distributed among both the wrestlers which was contributed by BJP leader and prominent wrestling promoter Swarn Singh Rathore. The wrestling event was organized by Jai Baba Laudana Young Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the overall supervision of Rakesh Singh (Pintu), president of Dangal Committee.
BJP leader Swarn Singh was the chief guest, who gave away cash prizes to the winners and runner-ups in presence of guests of honour including Shiv Kumar Sharma, SP Aslam and DDC Udhampur Puran Chand and others.
The 2nd bout was won by Benia Min by defeating Neki and both the wrestlers were awarded with Rs. 41000 and Rs 30,000 respectively, whereas 3rd bout was won by Lallu by trouncing Janna and 4th bout was secured by Nisar by defeating Amana, besides 5th bout was clinched by Ajay Sharma by beating Navdeep.
The bouts were officiated by Ram Paul Sharma, Om Paarkash Verma, Sat Paul Verma, Sahil Sharma, Rajinder Kumar, Darshan Singh, Avtar Singh, Sunny Sharma and Master Prem Kumar, whereas proceedings of the event was conducted by Kulbir Kaihnour.
In other bouts, Surjeet beat Billu, Madan defeated Hyder, Sudam defeated Babba, Subash beat Bharat Bushan, whereas the bout played between Muneer and Bobby ended in a draw.