Senior UT level Beach (mud) Wrestling C’ship concludes

Mayor Rajinder Sharma introducing wrestlers in presence of other dignitaries at Jammu on Sunday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 26: Senior UT level Beach (mud) Wrestling Championship, organized by Wrestling Association of J&K, concluded at Bajrangi Akhara Shalamar, here today.
The championship was organized under the auspices of Wrestling Federation of India, J&K Sports Council and J&K Olympic Association. Dushyant Sharma, SSP J&K Police and former international wrestler and alumni of Bajrangi Akhara briefed about the history of the former wrestlers and roles of former late Ustaads including his father late Pandit Arjun Dass Sharma, Ustaads Joginder Pahalwan, late Joginder Bedi, late Chaman Ustad and late Krishan Ustad of Bajrangi Akhara.
Rajiv Sharma, Member J&K Sports Council also lauded the role of the Association and promised that for the promotion of wrestling and wrestlers of J&K, a newly separate wrestling hall will be constructed soon in the M.A Stadium Jammu.
Ashutosh Sharma, president J&K Olympic Association have all praise for the Association of J&K for successful conduct of the championship at Bajrangi Akhara.
JMC Mayor Rajinder Sharma was the chief guest, while Rajeev Sharma, Dr Ashutosh, Kiran Wattal, Kuldeep Singh Jamwal, Narinder Mahajan, Vijay Pahalwan, Raju Sharma and Pardeep Sharma were the guests of honour.
The Mayor lauded the efforts of organizers for conducting the championship and channelizing the energy of the youth towards g sports. He also briefed that he will do all possible help and cooperation for the players of J&K and distributed the medals among winners.
In under-20 (60kg): Kulvinder Singh -Gold, Ankit Choudhary -Silver, and Sachin Singh-Bronze, in 70kg, Harshdev Singh -Gold, Sikander Ali-Silver, and Sahil Kumar-Bronze and in 80kg,: Amarjit -Gold, Gourav-Silver and Biniya Been- Bronze, besides in 80kg plus:-Shahid Umar-Gold, Mohd. Sahil -Silver.
In senior 70kg: Harshdev Singh -Gold, Rohit Singh-Silver, and Sahir Ali-Bronze, in 80kg: Bagh Hussain -Gold, Gourav -Silver and Sajjan Singh-Bronze, in 90kg: Amarjit -Gold, Maqsood -Silver and Ab. Majid- Bronze, in senior women 50kg: Upasana-Gold, Ruhi Rajput-Silver and in plus70kg: Sunaskhi –Gold and Nirjala-Bronze.
Prominent persons Jai Bharat, Om Parkash (Director Competition), Vikas Gupta, Vinod Bhatia, Swarn Lal and many others were present during the closing ceremony.