SA clash with NZ, look to strengthen semifinal chances

Their campaign back on track after a win over lowly Ireland, a rejuvenated South Africa will now look to strengthen their semifinal hopes when they lock horns with rampaging New Zealand in a ICC Women’s World Twenty 20 match at Chinnaswamy stadium here tomorrow.
After suffering a six-wicket loss to Australia at Nagpur in their opening encounter, South African drubbed Ireland by 67 runs riding on leg-spinner Sune Luus’ five-wicket haul for just eight runs in a sensational bowling spell.
South Africa are placed third in the points table with two points from two games, while New Zealand are right on the top with six points from three matches.
The Proteas will hope to top the points table by beating New Zealand tomorrow and then defeating Sri Lanka in their last Group A league match.
South Africa have a strong line up that is flush with talent. Their opener Trisha Chetty has been among runs, scoring 34 and 35 against Australia and Ireland respectively, and they will be expecting another good show from her.
D van Niekerk top-scorer with an innings of 45 off 47 balls against Australia, while Lizelle Lee contributed 30 against Ireland and they will look to fire tomorrow as well.
South Africa will expect yet another superlative performance from Luus, who ripped through Ireland batting to restrict them to 89.
Shabnim Ismail, who bagged two Aussie wickets, will also spearhead the South African bowling attack.
On the other hand, New Zealand have already qualified for the semifinals. The Suzie Bates’s side has been in devastating form with wins over Sri Lanka, Ireland and Australia.
New Zealand are coming into the match defeating Australia by six wickets after Bates fielded three spinners on a dry and dusty Nagpur wicket.
Bates and Rachel Priest will hope to produce a fiery opening stand as they did against Australia by putting on 58 runs. Sophie Devine will also hope to play aggressively as she did, punishing Irish bowling.
Spinners Morna Neilson and Leigh Kasperek, who have been among wickets, will like to continue with their form.
Teams (From):
South Africa Women: Mignon du Preez (C), Moseline Daniels, Yolani Fourie, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Dane van Niekerk, Trisha Chetty (WC), Dinesha Devnarain, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Marcia Letsoalo, Chloe Tryon, Odine Kirsten.
New Zealand: Suzie Bates (C), Sophie Devine, Erin Bermingham, Leigh Kasperek, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Sara McGlashan, Katey Martin, Thamsyn Newton, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Rachel Priest (WK), Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here