Prize distribution ceremony of VVM held

Participants displaying certificates while posing with dignitaries at Jammu.
Participants displaying certificates while posing with dignitaries at Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Apr 4: Vigyan Parishad-J&K chapter conducted prize distribution ceremony of Vidhyarthi Vigyan Manthan (VVM) for the students of Class VI to XI at CSIR-IIIM, here today.
Twelve top students were selected through rigorous procedure from 114 students (101 from J&K and 13 from Ladakh). Initially they were shortlisted from more than 1200 registered students at the preliminary stage, for their onward participation in National level Talent Search Camp.
The programme was conducted by Vigyan Parishad J&K team comprising of Prof Rajni Kant, Prof Pawanesh Abrol, Dr Parveen Lehana, Samir Vohra, Dr Dhiraj Vyas, Dr Uday Pratap Singh, Deepak Byotra, Pankaj Gupta, Tinny Sawhney, Navneet Kour, Ajay Sharma and Ankit Singh.
The president Prof. Rajnikant apprised the audience about the National level Competitive Examinations which are available for those students who are willing to take up Science as a career. The first three toppers were awarded with a cash prize of Rs 5000, Rs 3000 and Rs 2000 respectively, for each class, along-with mementos and certificates.
Dr. D Srinivasa Reddy, Director CSIR IIIM Jammu was the chief guest and Dr Vikrant Sharma, Prant Karyavah, RSS J&K, was the guest of honour. Dr. Reddy gave a brief and interesting presentation to the students on his experience gained during the research and also shared his thoughts about the existing scientific temper amongst the scientists working across various disciplines of science and technology in the country.
He also projected the value of Science in our lives and encouraged the students to do science for the betterment of the Nation. Dr Vikrant Sharma praised the participating students for working hard for the development of the Nation and Jyoti Sharma conducted the proceedings of the event and Samir Vohra, presented the formal vote of thanks.