Pre-QFs position cleared in 65th National School Games U-17 Boys Volleyball

Spikers in action during a match of 65th National School Games at Khel Gaon, Nagrota in Jammu.
Spikers in action during a match of 65th National School Games at Khel Gaon, Nagrota in Jammu.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 11: Pre-quarterfinals line up has been drawn in the ongoing 65th National School Games Under-17 Boys Volleyball Tournament, being organised by the Directorate of Youth Services and Sports, under the aegis of School Games Federation of India (SGFI) at Khel Gaon, Nagrota, here.
The sporting extravaganza is being held under the overall supervision of Dr Saleem-ur-Rehman, Director General Youth Services and Sports, J&K.
The objective of the Tournament, apart from promoting sports and games in the Union Territory is to make the people aware of the significance of saving water, planting trees and ‘no use of plastic’, besides bringing peace and harmony to the UT through the messengers of peace (sportspersons). Moreover, such events are the best medium to help youth rather young sportspersons to exchange culture with the counterparts from other States/UTs.
Meanwhile, in the last 16 stage, the teams in the pre-quarters will lock horns against each other in the morning session at the same venue tomorrow, while the quarterfinals will be played in the evening session on the same day.
The team which have made it to the pre-quarters include Haryana, J&K, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, KVS, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Karnataka, Telangana, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Punjab and Maharashtra.
In pre-quarters, Haryana will take on Karnataka, J&K will lock horns with Telangana, Rajasthan will face Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh will meet Uttarakhand, KVS will play against Uttar Pradesh, Delhi will take on Kerala, Tamil Nadu will meet Punjab and Gujarat will take on Maharashtra.
In today’s morning session matches, Kerala beat Daman & Diu (2-0), UP drubbed J&K (2-0), Delhi got the better of Madhya Pradesh (2-0), Maharashtra trounced Puducherry (2-1), Lakshadweep defeated Dadar Nagar Haveli (2-1), Karnataka beat Tripura (2-1), Bihar got the better of Odisha (2-0), NVS trounced Telangana, West Bengal prevailed over Chandigarh (2-0), Rajasthan outplayed Bihar (2-0), Tamil Nadu beat Dadar Nagar Haveli (2-0), Jharkhand drubbed IBSO (2-0).
In the evening session, Punjab defeated West Bengal (2-0), CISE trounced IBSO (2-0), Manipur defeated CBSE (2-0), KVS defeated IPSC (2-0), Andhra Pradesh beat Madhya Pradesh (2-0) and Kerala prevailed over Chhattisgarh (2-0).
Earlier, in the evening session matches played yesterday, Haryana beat West Bengal, Rajasthan defeated Pusuchery, Gujarat drubbed IBSO, Karnataka defeated Lakshadweep, Uttar Pradesh beat CBSE, Punjab trounced Chandigarh, Utrakhand defeated Delhi, Jharkhand thrashed Delhi, Maharashtra beat Odisha, Chhattisgarh outplayed Vidya Bharti and Tamil Nadu trounced Tripura.