Quiz competition ‘Bharat Ko Jano’ organized

Winning students posing with dignitaries at Abhinav Theatre, Jammu.
Winning students posing with dignitaries at Abhinav Theatre, Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 11: Bharat Vikas Parishad (BVP) J&K Prant today conducted ‘Bharat Ko Jano’ Quiz Competition at Abhinav Threatre Jammu.
S K Sharma, Commissioner Income Tax Jammu and Farooq Khan (Advisor to LG, UT of J&K) were chief guests for morning and evening session, respectively whereas Ajay Dutta (National secretary and S K Wadhwa (National vice president) presided over the function.
Dr Tarun Sharma (National chairman), Sushil Sharma (National secretary), Daya Sagar Sharma, Vikram Randhawa (Ex-MLC), Ved Prakash Sharma (president, Brahaman Sabha), Anil Gupta and Radhika Sharma (social workers) and Ashok Gupta (Director ASL Tutorials) were the guests of honor on the occasion.
The qualifying rounds of the competition was conducted on various topics viz. Religion, Culture, History, Geography, Politics and Constitution, Sports and Current Affairs etc in Junior and Senior categories. 17 teams in Junior category and equal number of teams as in Senior category participated from Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh and J&K but only six teams in each category qualified for Final stage of this neck to neck competition.
In Junior category, Punjab (South) bagged 1st position where as 2nd and 3rd positions were settled on a narrow margin in the favour of Haryana South & Delhi (Central). In Senior category, Haryana (South) got 1st position followed by Punjab (West) and Delhi (West) which got 2nd and 3rd positions, respectively.
The competition was conducted by experienced Quiz master namely Dr Tarun Sharma, Ashok Choudhary, Sandeep Watts, Bharat Bhushan Juneja, Lalit Chopra, Vijay Rohella and Jyotsna Sharma.