Police organizes ‘Kashmir Marathon’

DGP Dilbag Singh awarding a para-athlete during the event at Srinagar on Sunday. -Excelsior/Shakeel
DGP Dilbag Singh awarding a para-athlete during the event at Srinagar on Sunday. -Excelsior/Shakeel

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
SRINAGAR, Oct 30: Jammu and Kashmir organised ‘Kashmir Marathon’ wherein Director General of Police, Dilbag Singh was the chief guest at the impressive prize distribution ceremony which was held at Police Golf Course and distributed cash prizes and trophies among the winners of different events.
The DGP appreciated the ADGP Armed and his team for organizing the mega event successfully and started his address with the famous stanza “Main Akela Hi Chala Tha Janib-e-Manzil Magar, Log Saath Aate Gae Aur Karvan Banta Gaya”. He said that it was a great pleasure to see that JK Police programmes and events have gained such popularity.
In pedal for peace we had athletes from Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan and other parts of the country and in this event too, around 40 athletes from different States of the country participated. He said that around three thousand athletes participated in today’s event which is almost double if compared with last year’s participation of the similar event. This year’s event is unique in itself as around 90 para-athletes from different parts of the country took part in the event, he added.
Appreciating the achievements of Insha Bashir despite difficulties, the DGP said the doors of JK Police are open for all those who want to progress forward in different sports fields.
The ADGP Armed J&K SJM Gillani welcomed the DGP J&K and others dignitaries and said that Police besides its professional duties has been playing an important role in promoting the sports across J&K and added that J&K Police is organizing various sports events every year to provide a platform to the budding youth of the UT.
Earlier, in the morning DIG Armed Kashmir Shahid Mehraj flanked by other senior officers flagged off the run for various categories at LakeView Police Golf Course.
In the 21 kms half marathon men, Goru, Virendra Kumar Verma, Ritik Sharma won first three positions and were awarded with Rs. 75000, 50000 and 30000 respectively. In 21kms for professional athletes, Hans Raj, Ravi Das and Balwinder Singh won first three positions and were rewarded with Rs 20000, 15000 and 5000 respectively. In the 10 Kms road race U-18 boys, Arun Chandel, Karan Chandel and Mohammad Hussain won first three positions and were awarded with Rs 50000, 40000 and 25000 respectively. In the 10 kms road race for girls above 14, Sara Naqash, Fanja Devi and Zobiya Tariq secured first three positions and were awarded with Rs 50000, 40000, 25000 respectively.
In eight kms for veteran men above 45 years, Ram Raj, Shafat Ul Bashir and Rishi Kumar Nagar were awarded Rs 15000, 10000, 5000 respectively for winning first three positions. In 5kms sub junior boy Faisal Ahmad, Zaid Bin Mushtaq, Abrar Ashraf, Hashim Reyaz, Harsh Singh, Rizwan Hassan, Sahil Sofi, Ashiq Hussain, Farzan Hussain, Ayaan Yaqoob won first ten positions respectively.
In 4kms sub junior girls, Nisha Bash, Bazila, Snobar Manzoor, Madiha Javed, Umaisa Jaan, Adeeba Jaan, Rayeesa Zehra, Seerat Jaan, Farha Ahad and Wani Iqra won first ten positions respectively. In 2 kms for specially challenged (Male), Makhan Lal, Usman Tariq, Abid Bashir, Abid Hussain and Soleh Naseer won first five positions and in 2kms for specially challenged (Female), Syed Qaasirah, Tawheeda, Ulfat, Sadia and Adleena won first five positions respectively.
In the 2 kms run for fun, Mohd Afnan, Syed Haya Noor, Ghulam Ahmad and Saleema won first four positions and were given consolation awards. In the main attraction raffle draw, bicycles worth Rs 20000, 16000, 14000 were given to three lucky winners.