Phy Edu Deptt lifts men’s Badminton, Volleyball titles

*Sanskrit, EVS Departments bag Chess titles
Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, May 9: Department of Physical Education claimed men’s Badminton and Volleyball titles, while Sanskrit and EVS Departments bagged Chess men and women titles and Department of Psychology clinched title trophy in women’s Badminton event on day-3 of the ongoing Inter-Departmental Tournaments, being organized by the Campus Sports Committee of the University of Jammu at its Gymnasium Hall and Volleyball Court, here.
In Badminton (Women) final, Psychology Department defeated the Law School by 2-0 to lift the title, while in Badminton (Men) final, Physical Education Department beat MCA Department by 2-0 to win the tournament.
Earlier, in the men’s section1st semifinal, MCA Department beat Law Department by 2-1, while in the 2nd semifinal, Physical Education Department beat SHTM by 2-1.
The matches were officiated by Ravish Vaid, Gourav Sharma, Tarvinderpal Singh and Sanjeev Sharma.
In Volleyball (Men), Physical Education Department defeated Physics Department by 2-0 in straight sets in the final match and won the tournament. The set score was 25-20 & 25-14. Mohd Khaliq of Physical Education Department played excellent game whereas, Shubham Sharma of Physics Department defended well for the team.
Earlier, in the 1st semifinal, Physics Department beat Electronics Department by 2-0, while in the 2nd semifinal Physical Education Department outplayed Chemistry Department by 2-0.
In Chess (Men) final, Sanskrit Department drubbed Law School by 2-1 and won the tournament.
In semifinals, Sanskrit Department beat Geography Department by 2-0, while Law School beat Physical Education Department by 2-0.
In Chess (Women) final, EVS Department trounced Law Department to win the title by 2-0.
Prof RD Sharma, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu was the chief guest of the final matches, who was introduced with the players of the finalist teams before the start of the match in the presence of Prof Neeru Sharma, Chairperson Campus Sports Committee of the University of Jammu, Dr Daud Iqbal Baba, Director Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu and Dr Neeraj Sharma, Special Secretary to the Vice-Chancellor.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Gagan Kumar, Vikas Karlopia, Ravish Vaid, Jai Bharat, Vinay Manhas, Pardeep Sharma and PD Singh.