PG Department lifts Inter-collegiate Judo Men title

Winners displaying medals while posing with dignitaries at University of Jammu on Tuesday.
Winners displaying medals while posing with dignitaries at University of Jammu on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 30: The combined side of PG Department of Jammu University clinched Judo Men title and lifted the winning trophy by scoring 11 points in the ongoing Inter-collegiate Tournament, organized by the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education at Gymnasia of University of Jammu (JU).
Dr Daud Iqbal Baba, Director of Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, JU awarded the trophy and medals to the winners and runners- up in the presence of Narinder Sharma, Goutam Sharma, Dr Pinky Devi and Dr. Baljinder Kour.
The bouts were conducted by the following panel of officials including Danish Sharma, Vikas Dogra, Arshi Nad, Virender Sharma, Shewta Thakur, Rameshwar Singh, and Jai Bharat.
In 60 kg Judo men section, Shubam Sharma from GDC Sunderbani) and Nitin Kumar ofGDC Reasi clinched gold and silver medals respectively, while Sanchit Karlopia (PG Deptt.) and Harsh Sharma (GDC Akhnoor) shared bronze medal, while in 66 kg, Gulshan Kumar (GDC Vijaypur), Bhupinder Singh (GDC Kathua) and Anil Sharma (GDC Sunderbani) bagged top three medals respectively and in 73 kg, Aryan Gupta (PG Deptt.) and Nishant Manhas (GDC Mishriwala) won top two medals, while Nitin (GDC Khour) and Abhay Thakur (GDC Karkyal) shared bronze medal, besides in 81 kg, Vikram Sharma (MIET) and Tarun Sharma (GDC Kathua) clinched gold and silver, while bronze medal was shared by Perteak Bali (GDC Kunjwani) and Sanjeev Singh (GDC Reasi), whereas in 90 kg, top two medals were won by Shubham Kerni (PG Deptt.) and Gurmeet Singh (GDC Vijaypur), while bronze medal was shared by Tanish Sharma (GDC Akhnoor) and Shagun Saini (GDC Kathua) and in 100 kg, Raman Singh (GDC Khour) and Sanan (GDC Kunjwani) secured top two medals respectively, while bronze medal was clinched by Kapil Singh (GDC Katra) and Vikrant Kangutra (GDC Paloura). Moreover, in 100 plus kg, the top two medals were secured by Aryan Singh Choudhary (GDC Kathua) and Ankit Mahajan (GDC Kunjwani) respectively.
In the Basketball men category, PG Department beat GDC Akhnoor by 50-30 points, while GDC Kunjwani defeated GMC Kathua by 25-16 and GDC Khour got better of GDC Doda by 9-7 points.
In quarter-final matches, GDC Kathua trounced Dogra Degree College by 26-16 points and PG Deptt beat GDC Kunjwani by 31-9 points.
In the women’s section, GCW Parade defeated PG Department by 26-18 points in the first semi-final, while GDC Udhampur defeated GDC Kathua by 16-04 points to reach the finals. The final will be played at the same venue tomorrow.
The matches were officiated by Ranbir Singh, Shubham Sharma, Shubham Bhardwaj, Vishal Sharma and Vishal.
In Kho-Kho men category, GDC Udhampur got better of GDC Reasi by 2 points, GDC Sunderbani beat GDC Jindrah by 13 points, GDC Rajouri defeated GDC Khour by 8 points, PG Department trounced GDC Marh by 10 points and GDC RS Pura beat GDC Samba by 3 points.
In women category, GDC Bhaderwah got better of GDC Marh by 14 points, GCW Parade outplayed Bhasker Degree College by 1 point, GDC Doda defeated GDC Karkriyal by 5 points, GCW Kathua beat GDC Mahanpur by 11 points, GDC Kathua defeated GDC Hiranagar by 4 points, GCW Udhampur beat GDC Samba by 13 points, GDC Jindrah trounced GDC Kunjwani by 1 point and PG Department beat GDC Chenani by 8 points.
The matches were officiated by the technical panels of experts including Anil Sharma, Ajay Gupta, Dheeraj Sharma, Amninder Pal Singh, Raman Kalaria, Pablinter Singh, Pooja Sharma, Surbhi Anthal, Jagdev Singh and Anil Kumar.