Parra declares open 14th J&K State Wushu C’ship

Young Wushu players ready for the competition at Indooor complex in MA Stadium on Thursday.
Young Wushu players ready for the competition at Indooor complex in MA Stadium on Thursday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 28: 14th J&K State Wushu Championship got underway at Indoor Complex, MA Stadium, here today.
Waheed-Ur-Rahman Para was the chief guest on the occasion, who declared the event open in an impressive function.
Over 1000 participants from 20 districts are taking in the Championship.
The participating districts include Srinagar, Budgam, Ganderbal, Baramulla, Shopian, Pulwama, Anantnag, Bandipora, kulgam, Kupwara, Jammu, Poonch, Rajouri, Kathua, Samba, Udhampur, Reasi, Leh, Kargil and Doda.
Secretary Sports Council lauded the efforts of Wushu Association of J&K for the prominence of this sports discipline across the State.
He congratulated Kuldeep Handoo, Bhanu Partap Singh and Rajinder Singh for making the country and the state proud at World and Asia Cup.
He assured that he will establish the state academy for the Wushu in the state soon.
Ranjeet Kalra, Member BCCI and JKSSC presented welcome address on the occasion. He apprised the secretary and the guests about the achievements of Wushu for the year 2017-18.
The president of the Wushu Association of J&K, Vijay Saraf presented vote of thanks.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Yasir Ahmed, Chief Accounts Officer JKSSC, Haji Abdul  Qayoom, Chief Sports Officer, and Chairman Doon International School, Sunil  Sharma.
In below 24 kg girls, Daan of Jammu, Mehak of Jammu, Vanshika of Samba and Meenakshi of Samba won gold, silver and bronze medals, while in below 7 years boys, Farhad bagged gold below 9 years, Zehaan of Jammu won gold.
In below 21 kg 7 years girls, Vaibhavi Abrol of Jammu clinched gold, while Samiya of Jammu and Shaishta of Budgam claimed silver and bronze respectively.
In below 5 years  boys, Samanyu of Jammu Won gold, Mohd Saqlain of Srinagar clinched silver, while Swayam Sharma and Rahghu Singh, both from Jammu claimed bronze.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here