National Korfball C’ship held at MAU

A players being awarded by the dignitaries at Maharaja Agrasen University on Wednesday.
A players being awarded by the dignitaries at Maharaja Agrasen University on Wednesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 7: Maharaja Agrasen University (MAU) in association with Korfball Federation of India organized four days 34th Senior and 18th Sub-Junior National Korfball Competition from September 1 to 4.
More than 750 players and coaches from twenty three States participated in it. The competition was inaugurated by the IPS Mohit Chawala, SP Baddi and IAS Jafar Ikwal, ADC Solan.
On this occasion, Himanshu Nath Mishra, chairman of the Korfball Federation of India, vice chairman B.R Sumanand, general secretaryAbin Thomas B. and Chancellor’s nominee Sursh Gupta, Prof Yogendra Singh, Registrar were present.
The participants showcased their talent in the competition. Indian Korfball coach Adern Henstrach Holand selected 18 boys and 18 girls players, who will represent India in the International Korfball Championship.
Suresh Gupta, Chancellor’s nominee encouraged the students to participate in games to develop sportsmanship in spite of study.
Ramesh Bidudi MP Delhi encouraged participants and said that each student must participate in games with the study. Sports are important to personality development. He was happy with the University sports facilities which are provided to the students.
In the valedictory session, chief guest Prof (Dr.) R.K Gupta, Vice Chancellor of the Maharaja Agrasen University praised the efforts of the participants and said that sports develop teamwork, leadership quality, rigorous hard work, help to others and planning the difficult situation.
He further said that the University is working for the overall development of the students. Every student must include sports in his daily life. Games keep us mentally strong and physically fit. He also talked with the participants of all states.
Senior team of Haryana was the winner of 34th Senior National Korfball Championship, while Himachal and Maharashtra stood second and third, besides the Sub-junior team of Rajasthan was the winner of 18th Sub-junior National Korfball Championship, while Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu remained second and third positions.